Skip to main content

Skip to Content

Report Bug

Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science Student Selected for U.S. Senate Youth Program

December 19, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. – Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS) student Braeden J. Foldenauer of Olive Branch has been selected as a delegate to the 55th annual U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 4–11, 2017, in Washington, D.C.



Foldenauer is the president of Mu Alpha Theta, a mathematics honor society for the state of Mississippi. At MSMS, he serves as president of Mississippi Model Security Council, Young Democrats, Interfaith Dialogue Society, Future Physicians of America, and vice president of the Student Government Association.


Foldenauer is an alumnus of the Telluride Association Summer Program and is a National Merit semifinalist. He ultimately plans to major in either political science or international relations and hopes to pursue a career in government and public service. He aspires to one day give back to Mississippi through elected office and draw attention to the needs in the state.


The USSYP, established in 1962 by U.S. Senate Resolution, is a unique educational experience for outstanding high school students interested in pursuing careers in public service. During the annual program in Washington, D.C., student leaders from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity will spend a week in Washington experiencing their national government in action. Student delegates will hear major policy addresses by senators, cabinet members, officials from the Departments of State and Defense and directors of other federal agencies, as well as participate in a meeting with a justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. All transportation, hotel and meal expenses are provided by The Hearst Foundations. In addition, each delegate will be awarded a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate studies, with encouragement to pursue coursework in history and political science.

Media Contact: 
Patrice Guilfoyle, APR
Director of Communications

Jean Cook, APR
Communications Specialist