Skip to main content

High contrast

Text Resize

Skip to Content

Toggle Site Search Icon Search
Clear search textbox
Report Bug

Academic Education

The Office of Academic Education consists of eight program areas and four state schools.

Programs Areas:

  • Office of Compulsory School Attendance
  • Office of Elementary Education and Reading
  • Office of Federal Programs
  • Office of School District Consolidation
  • Office of Professional Development
  • Office of School Improvement
  • Office of Secondary Education and Career and Technical Education
  • Office of Special Education

State Schools:   

  • Mississippi School of the Arts
  • Mississippi School for the Blind
  • Mississippi School for the Deaf
  • Mississippi School of Mathematics and Science

All services and activities within the Office of Academic Education are designed to support the State Board of Education’s vision and 5-year Strategic Plan for 2016-2020.


2019 Access for All Guide

The Access For All (AFA) Guide was developed by the MDE in collaboration with educators across the state to help teachers address issues that impact learners with a wide variety of needs.