Skip to main content

High contrast

Text Resize

Skip to Content

Toggle Site Search Icon Search
Clear search textbox
Report Bug

Mississippi State Board of Education Members

The Mississippi State Board of Education adopts rules and regulations and set standards and policies for the organization, operation, management, planning, budgeting and programs of the Mississippi State Department of Education.
 

Membership
The Board is made up of nine members. Each member is appointed according to the rules in the Mississippi Constitution. The Board appoints the State Superintendent of Education.

Mississippi Constitution rules require that the Mississippi Governor appoints one member from Mississippi's Northern Supreme Court District, one member from Mississippi's Central Supreme Court District, one member from Mississippi's Southern Supreme Court District, one member who is employed as a school administrator, and one member who is employed as a public school teacher. Additionally, the Lieutenant Governor shall appoint two members at-large, and the Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives shall appoint two members at-large.
 

Educational Priorities and Board Mission
In its role as a policymaker, the Board has a State Board of Education 5-Year Strategic Plan

Board Members

rosemary-aultman---board-chair.jpg

Mrs. Rosemary G. Aultman, Chair
Term expires July, 2022
At-Large Representative

Email: rosemary.aultman@mdek12.org

Dr. Carey M. Wright, Executive Secretary

Dr. Carey M. Wright, Executive Secretary
State Superintendent of Education


Email: cwright@mdek12.org

img_6789c.jpg

Dr. Karen Elam
Term expires July, 2021
Northern Supreme Court District Representative

Email: karen.elam@mdek12.org

Dr. Wendi Barrett

Dr. Wendi Barrett
Term expires July, 2027
Teacher Representative

Email: Wbarrett@mdek12.org

AmyZhang

Amy Zhang
Term expires April, 2022
Senior Student Representative
Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science

Email: azhang@mdek12.org

blank picture

Term expires July, 2026
At-Large Representative

 

Angela Bass

Dr. Angela Bass
Term expires July, 2025
Central Supreme Court District Representative

Email: abass@mdek12.org

Ronnie McGehee

Dr. Ronnie McGehee
Term expires July, 2028
At-Large Representative

Email: rmcgehee@mdek12.org

Glen East

Mr. Glen East
Term expires July, 2023
Administrator Representative

Email: geast@mdek12.org

Mr. Matt Miller

Mr. Matt Miller
Term expires July, 2029
Southern Supreme Court District Representative

Email: Mmiller@mdek12.org

blank picture

Vacant
Junior Student Representative

 

 

blank picture

Term expires July, 2024
At-Large Representative

 

Postal mail for board members should be sent to the following address:
Mississippi Department of Education
Bureau of Public Reporting
P. O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205-0771