

## Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Special-Called Teleconference meeting February 11, 2025 8:30 a.m.

A Special-Called meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, February 11, 2025. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel or in person in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Dr. Kelle Barfield, New York, NY Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS Patrice Guilfoyle, Jackson, MS Toni Kersh, Brandon, MS Dr. Scott Rimes, Brandon, MS Brad Stevens, Smithville, MS Dr. Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent

Jeremy Hamm Pamela Manners Aisha Maxwell Trosiki Pettis

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Dr. Donna Boone, Chief Academic Officer John Ferrell, Chief of School and District Transformation John Kraman, Chief Information Officer Erin Meyer, General Counsel Alan Burrow, Executive Director, District and School Performance Wendy Clemons, Associate Superintendent of Secondary Education Ma'Kesha Adams, Director, Secondary Curriculum and Instruction Dr. Sonja Robertson, Executive Director of School Improvement Deborah Donovan, Office of Technology and Strategic Services

Commission on School Accreditation – MINUTES February 11, 2025

Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation J. Christopher Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation

Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

## I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Dr. Carla Evers, Vice-Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a roll call of the Commission members.

Dr. Evans announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Dr. Evers called the meeting to order at 8:37 a.m.

## II. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion by Dr. Kelle Barfield, seconded by Toni Kersh, the Commission unanimously voted to adopt the agenda.

III. <u>DISCUSSION</u>: Proposal to suspend the personnel edit review process for the 2024-2025 school year and hold schools and districts harmless for noncompliance based on MSIS 2.0 data

Dr. Vanderford presented the information to the Commission. John Kraman briefly explained the reasoning behind the proposal.

- IV. <u>ACTION</u>: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to suspend the personnel edit review process for the 2024-2025 school year for the following process standards of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024, and hold schools and districts harmless for noncompliance based on MSIS 2.0 data:
  - 2, 2.2 and 2.3 (Certified Staff)
  - 24, 24.1, and 24.2 (Instructional Planning Time)
  - 25 (Individual Course Preps for Teachers Grades 9-12)
  - 26 (High School Curriculum)
  - 28, 28.1, 28.2, 28.3, 28.4, and 28.5 (Student-Teacher Ratios)

On a motion by, Dr. Scott Rimes, seconded by Anthony Bryant, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the request to the State Board of Education to suspend the personnel edit review process for the 2024-2025 school year for the following process standards of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024, and hold schools and districts harmless for noncompliance based on MSIS 2.0 data:

- 2, 2.2 and 2.3 (Certified Staff)
- 24, 24.1, and 24.2 (Instructional Planning Time)
- 25 (Individual Course Preps for Teachers Grades 9-12)

Commission on School Accreditation – MINUTES February 11, 2025

- 26 (High School Curriculum)
- 28, 28.1, 28.2, 28.3, 28.4, and 28.5 (Student-Teacher Ratios)
- V. <u>DISCUSSION</u>: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024, specifically, Appendices A-5 A-10, A-12, A-13, B-2, and the Glossary to be effective 2025-2026 school year

Wendy Clemons presented the request to the Commission.

VI. <u>ACTION</u>: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) Process to revise to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024, specifically, Appendices A-5 – A-10, A-12, A-13, B-2, and the Glossary to be effective 2025-2026 school year

On a motion by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, seconded by Toni Kersh, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) Process to revise to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024, specifically, Appendices A-5 – A-10, A-12, A-13, B-2, and the Glossary to be effective 2025-2026 school year.

VII. <u>DISCUSSION</u>: Proposed amendment to Mississippi's ESSA Consolidated State Plan

Alan Burrow presented the information to the Commission.

VIII. <u>ACTION</u>: Approval of the amendment to Mississippi's ESSA Consolidated State Plan

On a motion by Dr. Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Scott Rimes, the Commission voted 8 to 1 to approve the amendment to Mississippi's ESSA Consolidated State Plan.

Members voting Aye

Dr. Kelle Barfield Anthony Bryant Reginald Goins Toni Kersh Dr. Scott Rimes Brad Stevens Dr. Sarah Wilborn Ingrid Williams

Members voting Nay

Patrice Guilfoyle

## IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Anthony Bryant, seconded by Ingrid Williams, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 9:25 a.m.

 $\begin{array}{c} Commission \ on \ School \ Accreditation-MINUTES \\ February \ 11, \ 2025 \end{array}$ 

| APPROVEI  | BY THE CO | MMISSION       |
|---|-----------|----------------|
| 06  | 05        | 2025           |
| (Month)   | (Day)     | 2025<br>(Year) |
| Vice Chair of the Commission  Executive Secretary of the Commission |           |                |