

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Teleconference meeting December 5, 2024 8:30 a.m.

A regular meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, December 5, 2024. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel or in person in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Kelle Barfield, Sofia, Bulgaria
Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS
Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS
Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS
Patrice Guilfoyle, Jackson, MS
Jeremy Hamm, Meridian, MS
Toni Kersh, Brandon, MS
Pamela Manners, (Chair), Biloxi, MS
Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS
Trosiki Pettis, Tunica, MS
Dr. Scott Rimes, Brandon, MS
Dr. Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS

Members absent: Brad Stevens and Ingrid Williams

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Associate State Superintendent/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Sonya Amis, Deputy State Superintendent, Bureau of Internal Audit Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation
Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation
J. Christopher Haynes, Office of Accreditation
Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation
Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation

Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a roll call of the Commission members.

¹Jeremy Hamm joined the meeting during the information of recommended statues.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 8:34 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, the Commission unanimously voted to adopt the agenda.

III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the September 17, 2024, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Dr. Scott Rimes, seconded by Toni Kersh, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the September 17, 2024, meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation.

IV. Information: Recommended Annual District Accreditation Statuses for School Year 2024-2025 and Districts with Deficiencies in accordance with Accreditation Policies 2.0, 2.1, 2.2, and 2.3 of the Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2024 (Dr. Jo Ann Malone)

Dr. Jo Ann Malone presented the information to the Commission.

V. Action: Approval of Annual District Accreditation Statuses for School Year 2024-2025

On a motion by Anthony Bryant, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the Annual District Accreditation Statuses for School Year 2024-2025.

VI. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Scott Rimes, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 8:41 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION

nth) (Day)

na wall

Chair of the Commission

Secutive Secretary of the Commission