

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Teleconference meeting September 17, 2024 8:30 a.m.

A regular meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, September 17, 2024. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel or in person in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS
Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS
Dr. Carla Evers, Flowood, MS
Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS
Patrice Guilfoyle, Jackson, TN
Jeremy Hamm, Meridian, MS
Toni Kersh, Pearl, MS
Pamela Manners, (Chair), Biloxi, MS
Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS
Trosiki Pettis, Tunica, MS
Dr. Scott Rimes, Brandon, MS
Brad Stevens, Monroe County, MS
Dr. Sarah-Wilborn, Ellisville, MS
Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent

none

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation
Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer
Erin Meyer, General Counsel
Alan Burrow, Executive Director, District and School Performance
Tim Scott, Director of Accountability Services, District and School Performance
Dr. Lance Evans, State Superintendent of Education
Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation

¹ Joined the meeting at 8:36 a.m. after roll-call.

Commission on School Accreditation – MINUTES September 17, 2024

Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation
J. Christopher Haynes, Office of Accreditation
Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation

State Board of Education members present included:

Mr. Glen East, Chair Dr. Ronnie McGehee

Jennifer Nichols, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a roll call of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 8:34 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, seconded by Toni Kersh, the Commission unanimously voted to adopt the agenda.

III. <u>Action</u>: Approval of the minutes of the April 4, 2024, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Dr. Scott Rimes, seconded by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the April 4, 2024, meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation.

IV. <u>Action</u>: Approval of the minutes of the August 29, 2024, Special-Called Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Jeremy Hamm, seconded by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the August 29, 2024, Special-Called Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation.

V. <u>Information</u>: Report of the Internal Review Committee and Preliminary Accountability Results in accordance with Accreditation Policy 3.1.3 of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024

Dr. Paula Vanderford and Mr. Alan Burrow presented the information to the Commission.

VI. <u>Discussion</u>: District/School Performance Reports for the School Year 2024-2025 (based on School Year 2023-2024)

Commission on School Accreditation – MINUTES September 17, 2024

Dr. Paula Vanderford and Mr. Alan Burrow presented the information to the Commission.

VII. <u>Action</u>: Approval of District/School Performance Classifications for School Year 2024-2025 (based on School Year 2023-2024)

On a motion by Dr. Scott Rimes, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the District/School Performance Classifications for School Year 2024-2025 (based on School Year 2023-2024).

VIII. Other Business

Dr. Malone introduced Dr. Lance Evans, State Superintendent of Education, who addressed the Commission.

Ms. Manners announced the next meeting of the Commission to be, Tuesday, October 15, 2024, at 8:30 a.m. The meeting will be teleconference.

IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Brad Stevens, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 9:03 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION

Mecenther 5, 2024 (Month) (Day) (Year)

Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission