OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda June 19, 2025

OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

L. Approval of the appointments to the Commission on School Accreditation

<u>Background Information</u>: Mississippi Code Ann. § 37-17-3 establishes that the Commission on School Accreditation (the Commission) shall consist of three (3) members of the four (4) congressional districts, and three (3) members from the state at large. The purpose and duty of the Commission is to continuously review the standards on accreditation and the enforcement thereof and to make recommendations thereon to the State Board of Education. All appointments shall be made by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Public Education.

The following Commission positions are eligible for appointment and the MDE recommends the following individuals to the fill these positions:

Two (2) Commission members are eligible for appointment to a second regular term (2025-2029).

Congressional District 4 Dr. Carla Evers

Superintendent (Municipal)

Second Regular Term 2025-2029

Congressional District 4 Dr. Sarah Wilborn

Teacher

Second Regular Term 2025-2029

 One (1) Commission member has completed an unexpired term and is eligible for appointment to a first regular term (2025-2029):

Congressional District 1 Anthony Bryant

Special Education Representative First Regular Term 2025-2029

 Due to the retirement of a Commission member, there is a vacancy for a county superintendent to serve a first regular term (2025-2029):

Congressional District 3 Dr. John-Mark Cain

Superintendent (County)

First Regular Term 2025-2029

• Due to the completion of two (2) regular terms of a Commission member, there is a vacancy for a non-educator to serve a regular term (2025-2029):

Congressional District 2 Betsy Cotton

Non-Educator

First Regular Term 2025-2029

• Due to the resignation of a Commission member, there is a vacancy for a school board member to serve an unexpired term (2024-2028):

Congressional District 1 Carter Myers

School Board member Unexpired Term 2024-2028

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material: None