

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Meeting March 7, 2025

viarch 7, 202 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, March 7, 2025, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

Dylan Baldwin

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Etta Taplin

Rebecca Gray

Dr, Bernell Kelly

Aaron Wilson

Mary Hill-Taylor

David Martin

John Howard Kim Hubbard William D. Murphy Dr. Teresa Poole

Members Absent:

James Creel

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE):

Dr. Cory Murphy

Limeul Eubanks

Andrea Hanson

Tamika Lipsey

Scott DeJong

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, March 7, 2025, at 10:00 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Dylan Baldwin Present, Jackson, MS

James Creel Absent

Rebecca Gray Present, Iuka, MS

Mary Hill-Taylor Present, Choctaw, MS
John Howard Present, Clarksdale, MS
Kim Hubbard Present, Flowood, MS

Dr. Teresa Jayroe Present, Flowood, MS
Dr. Bernell Kelly Present, Gulfport, MS

David Martin Present, Jackson, MS William D. Murphy Present, Indianola, MS

Dr. Teresa Poole Present, Hattiesburg, MS

Etta Taplin Present, Jackson, MS Aaron Wilson Present, Jackson, MS

A quorum of the Commission was present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and teleconference means.

III. Approval of the minutes of the January 10, 2025, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Etta Taplin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the January 10, 2025, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of January 8, 2025

On a motion from Mary Hill-Taylor, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the January 8, 2025, hearing subcommittee.

V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of February 5, 2025

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the February 5, 2025, hearing subcommittee.

VI. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Dylan Baldwin, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

VII. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Murphy provided updates on the MECCA System and encouraged everyone to participate in

the Elevate Teachers Conference 2025.

VIII. Approval to establish a qualifying score for the revised versions of certain Praxis Subject Assessments: Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (Test Code 5534); Family and Consumer Sciences (5123); and Social Studies (5581) as recommended by the Ad Hoc Committee of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development and approval to establish a qualifying score for Praxis Subject Assessment: Japanese: World Language (Test Code 5661) and add Japanese: World Language (Licensure Endorsement Code TBD) to the list of approved supplemental endorsements that may be added to a valid three (3) year internship license or valid five (5) year standard license by obtaining a passing score on the appropriate Praxis Subject Assessment; and update the test code associated with the Foundations of Reading Assessment to change from test code 190 to test code 890 with no changes to the test content, and no change to the current Mississippi Board of Education's required passing score.

Dr. Cory Murphy presented the information to the Commission. On a motion from Aaron Wilson, seconded by Dr. Teresa Jayroe, the Commission voted unanimously to approve to establish a qualifying score for the revised version of certain Praxis Subject Assessments: Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (Test Code 5534); Family and Consumer Sciences (5123); and Social Studies (5581) as recommended by the Ad Hoc Committee of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development and approval to establish a qualifying score for Praxis Subject Assessment: Japanese: World Language (Test Code 5661) and add Japanese: World Language (Licensure Endorsement Code TBD) to the list of approved supplemental endorsements that may be added to a valid three (3) year internship license or valid five (5) year standard license by obtaining a passing score on the appropriate Praxis Subject Assessment; and update the test code associated with the Foundations of Reading Assessment to change from test code 190 to test code 890 with no changes to the test content, and no change to the current Mississippi Board of Education's required passing score.

IX. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act Process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7-4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to establish a supplemental endorsement and licensure criteria for Advanced Placement Computer Science A (Licensure Endorsement Code 612).

Ms. Wendy Clemons presented this information to the Commission. On a motion from Mary Hill-Taylor, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the Administrative Procedures Act Process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to establish a supplemental endorsement and licensure criteria for Advanced Placement Computer Science A (Licensure Endorsement Code 612).

X. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrender (Mr. Scott DeJong)

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the six (6) agreed orders presented for the following educators:

E. Pursley	Educator# 328179	P. Capdepon	Educator# 324537
V. Seale	Educator# 324374	L. Ingram	Educator# 329841
C. Collins	Educator# 314767	M. Payne	Educator# 206336

XI. Adjournment

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:40 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Cory Murphy, PH.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development