

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Meeting January 10, 2025 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, January 10, 2025, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

Dylan Baldwin

Kim Hubbard

Dr. Teresa Poole

James Creel

Dr, Teresa Jayroe

Etta Taplin

Rebecca Gray

Dr. Bernell Kelly

Aaron Wilson

Mary Hill-Taylor

David Martin

John Howard

William D. Murphy

Members Absent:

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE):

Dr. Cory Murphy

Dr. Courtney Van Cleve

Brett Robinson

Dr. Paula Vanderford

Scott DeJong

Andrea Hanson

Lori Hartley

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, January 10, 2025, at 10:00 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Dylan Baldwin Present, Ponotoc, MS

James Creel Present, Brookhaven, MS

Rebecca Gray Present, Iuka, MS

Mary Hill-Taylor Present, Sturgis, MS

John Howard Present, Clarksdale, MS

Kim Hubbard Present, Flowood, MS Dr. Teresa Jayroe Present, Starkville, MS

Dr. Bernell Kelly Present, Gulfport, MS

David Martin Present, Brookhaven, MS

William D. Murphy

Present, Brooknaven, MS

Present, Greenville, MS

Dr. Teresa Poole Present, Hattiesburg, MS

Etta Taplin Present, Ruth, MS

Aaron Wilson Present, Lumberton, MS

A quorum of the Commission was present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and teleconference means.

III. Approval of the minutes of the November 1, 2024, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Dr. Teresa Jayroe, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the November 1, 2024, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of September 6, 2024

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Dr. Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the September 6, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of November 13, 2024

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Rebecca Gray, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the November 13, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

VI. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of December 4, 2024

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the December 4, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

VII. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

VIII. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy) Mississippi Educator Workforce Updates (Dr. Courtney Van Cleve)

Dr. Courtney Van Cleve presented an update on the Mississippi Educator Workforce, and it was suggested that a subcommittee may need to be created to investigate the teacher shortage.

IX. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act Process: to Revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to establish a new supplemental endorsement licensure option in the area of Mild/Moderate Disability 7-12 that may be added to a valid three (3) year internship license or valid five (5) year standard license by obtaining a passing score on the appropriate Praxis Subject Assessment.

Dr. Cory Murphy presented the information to the Commission. On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the Administrative Procedures Act Process: to revise Miss. Admin. Code 7-4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to establish a new supplemental endorsement licensure option in the area of Mild/Moderate Disability 7-12 that may be added to a valid three (3) year internship license or valid five (5) year standard license by obtaining a passing score on the appropriate Praxis Subject Assessment.

X. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act Process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4 Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to amend the Principles of Learning and Teaching Praxis assessment requirement for license 211 Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten (Early Intervention) to align with the associated grade span.

Dr. Cory Murphy presented this information to the Commission. On a motion from Aaron Wilson, seconded by John Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the Administrative Procedures Act Process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to amend the Principles of Learning and Teaching Praxis assessment requirement for license 211 Special Education/Birth to Kindergarten (Early Intervention) to align with the associated grade span.

XI. Approval of Belhaven University's initial-level preparation programs as a result of state standards-based educator preparation program review and national accreditation decisions.

Dr. Deborah Stoulig presented this information to the Commission. On a motion by William Murphy, seconded by Dr. Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve Belhaven University's initial-level preparation programs as a result of state standards-based educator preparation program review and national accreditation decisions.

XII. Approval of William Carey University's initial-level preparation programs as a result of state standards-based educator preparation program review and national accreditation decisions.

Dr. Deborah Stoulig presented this information to the Commission. On a motion by Aaron Wilson, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve William Carey University's initial-level preparation programs as a result of state standards-based educator preparation program review and national accreditation decisions.

XIII. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrender (Mr. Scott DeJong)

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the two (2) agreed orders presented for the following educators:

Sanuel Coleman

Educator# 322139

John Walton

Educator# 170991

On a motion by Dr. Bernell Kelly, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agreed order presented for the following educators:

Mark Calhoun

Educator# 123890

XIV. Adjournment

On a motion from John Howard, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:36 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development