

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Special - Called Meeting **April 22, 2025** 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday April 22, 2025, in room 101 located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

Dylan Baldwin

Dr. Bernell Kelly

Jamie Creel

David Martin

Rebecca Gray

Etta Taplin

Mary Hill-Taylor

Aaron Wilson

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Members Absent:

James Creel

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE):

Dr. Cory Murphy

Brian McGairty

Andrea Hanson

Lori Hartley

Scott DeJong

Anissa Stubbs

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

David Martin called the meeting to order on Tuesday April 22, 2025, at 10:00 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Dylan Baldwin Present, Tupelo, MS James Creel Present, Flora, MS

Rebecca Gray Present, Iuka, MS
Mary Hill-Taylor Present, Choctaw, MS

John Howard Absent

John Howard Absent Kim Hubbard Absent

Dr. Teresa Jayroe Present, Meridian, MS
Dr. Bernell Kelly Present, Gulfport, MS
David Martin Present, Brookhaven, MS

William D. Murphy Absent
Dr. Teresa Poole Absent

Etta Taplin Present, Cabo San Lucas, MX
Aaron Wilson Present, Lumberton, MS

A quorum of the Commission was present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and teleconference means.

III. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Dylan Baldwin, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

IV. Discussion and/or Approval to grand or deny the request for continuance in the matter of educator Kalvin Smith, License Number 216675, by Attorney for educator, relative to sub-committee hearing scheduled for April 23, 2025

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Etta Taplin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the request for continuance in the matter of educator Kalvin Smith, License Number 216675, by attorney for educator, relative to sub-committee hearing scheduled for April 23, 2025.

V. Adjournment

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:40 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Cory Murphy, PH.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development