Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Meeting September 6, 2024 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, September 6, 2024, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

Dylan Baldwin

Kim Hubbard

Dr. Teresa Poole

James Creel

Dr. Bernell Kelly

Etta Taplin

Rebecca Gray

David Martin, chairperson

Aaron Wilson

Mary Hill-Taylor

William D. Murphy

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Members Absent:

John Howard

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE):

Dr. Cory Murphy

Jonathon Dennis

Dr. Lance Evans

Dr. Paula Vanderford

Dr. Courtney Van Cleve

Dawn Tassin

Scott DeJong

Andrea Hanson

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

I. Call to Order

Chairman David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, September 6, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Dylan Baldwin

Present, Oxford, MS

James Creel

Present, Jackson, MS

Rebecca Gray

Present, Iuka, MS

Mary Hill-Taylor

Present, Choctaw, MS

John Howard

Absent

Kim Hubbard

Present, Flowood, MS

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Present, Starkville, MS

Dr. Bernell Kelly David Martin William D. Murphy

Dr. Teresa Poole

Present, Jackson, MS Present, Jackson, MS Present, Indianola, MS Present, Hattiesburg, MS

Etta Taplin

Present, Ruth, MS

Aaron Wilson

Present, Lumberton, MS

A quorum of the Commission is present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and teleconference means.

III. Approval of the minutes of the July 12, 2024, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the July 12, 2024, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

10:05 a.m. Mary Hill Taylor joined the meeting in time to vote.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of July 12, 2024

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Poole, seconded Etta Taplin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the July 12, 2024, hearing subcommittee

V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of August 7, 2024

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the August 7, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

VI. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of August 21, 2024

On a motion from Bernell Kelly, seconded by Rebecca Gray, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the August 21, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

VII. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Bernell Kelly, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

VIII. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Murphy introduced Dr. Lance Evans, Superintendent. Dr. Evans then addressed the commission.

IX. Approval of University of Southern Mississippi's request to modify its existing Approved licensure-track program for Administrator K-12

On a motion from Aaron Wilson, seconded by James Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the University of Southern Mississippi's request to modify its existing Approved licensure-track program for Administrator K-12.

X. Approval of 2025 Dates for Regular Meetings of the Licensure Commission:

On a motion from Teresa Poole, seconded by Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the regular meeting dates of the Licensure Commission.

XI. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott DeJong)

On a motion by Teresa Poole, seconded by Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the one (2) agreed order presented for the following educators:

Standard 10

Sarah Ward

Educator #412001

Suspended thru December 2024

Brock Peden

Educator #326307

XII. Adjournment

On a motion from Janice Creel, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:18 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Cory Murphy, PH.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and

Administrator Education, Certification and

Licensure and Development