

Ensuring a bright future for every child

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

Regular Meeting November 1, 2024 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, November 1, 2024, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

Dylan Baldwin

John Howard

Dr. Teresa Poole

James Creel

Kim Hubbard

Etta Taplin

Rebecca Gray

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Aaron Wilson

Mary Hill-Taylor

William D. Murphy

Members Absent:

David Martin

Dr. Bernell Kelly

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE):

Dr. Cory Murphy

Dr. Courtney Van Cleve

Brett Robinson

Dr. Paula Vanderford

Scott DeJong

Andrea Hanson

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

Dylan Baldwin, presiding in the absence of Chairman Martin, called the meeting to order on Friday, November 1, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Dylan Baldwin
James Creel

Rebecca Gray Mary Hill-Taylor

John Howard Kim Hubbard

Dr. Teresa Jayroe Dr. Bernell Kelly

David Martin
William D. Murphy

Dr. Teresa Poole

Etta Taplin Aaron Wilson Present, Jackson, MS

Present, Flora, MS Present, Iuka, MS

Present, Brandon, MS

Present, Clarksdale, MS Present, Flowood, MS

Present, Starkville, MS

Absent Absent

Present, Indianola, MS

Present, Hattiesburg, MS

Present, Ruth, MS Present, Jackson, MS

A quorum of the Commission was present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and teleconference means.

III. Approval of the minutes of the September 6, 2024, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the September 6, 2024, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of September 6, 2024

This Item was moved to the January 10, 2025, because only 1 of the three Committee members who were on the subcommittee were present at this meeting to vote on the minutes.

V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of September 11, 2024

On a motion from Aaron Wilson, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the September 11, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

VI. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of October 2, 2024

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the October 2, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

VII. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of October 23, 2024

On a motion from William Murphy, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the October 23, 2024, hearing subcommittee.

VIII. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Aaron Wilson, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

IX. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Courtney Van Cleve presented an update on the Mississippi Educator Workforce and the 2024 Educator Preparation Provider Annual Performance Report.

X. Approval of Delta State University's request to delete its approved traditional teacher education preparation licensure-track Bachelor of Science programs in English Education 7-12 (119), Mathematics Education 7-12 (154), Music Education K-12 Instrumental (165), Music Education K-12 Vocal (166), Physical Education K-12 (144), and Social Studies 7-12 (192)

Dr. Cory Murphy presented the information to the Commission. On a motion from Dr. Teresa Jayroe, seconded by Dr. Teresa Poole, the Commission voted unanimously to approve Delta State University's request to delete its approved traditional teacher education preparation licensure-track Bachelor of Science programs in English Education 7-12 (119), Mathematics Education 7-12 (154), Music Education K-12 Instrumental (165), Music Education K-12 Vocal (166), Physical Education K-12 (144), and Social Studies 7-12 (192).

XI. Approval of Delta State University's request to establish a traditional teacher education preparation Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education program leading to licensure in two (2) areas, with the major emphasis area including English 7-12 (119), Mathematics 7-12 (154), Music Education K-12 Instrumental (165), Music Education K-12 Vocal (166), Physical Education K-12 (144), Social Studies 7-12 (192), and Biology 7-12 (181).

Dr. Cory Murphy presented this information to the Commission. On a motion from John Howard, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve Delta State University's request to establish a traditional teacher education preparation Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education program leading to licensure in two (2) areas, with the major emphasis area including English 7-12 (119), Mathematics 7-12 (154), Music Education K-12 Instrumental (165), Music Education K-12 Vocal (166), Physical Education K-12 (144), Social Studies 7-12 (192), and Biology 7-12 (181).

XII. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process: To revise the title of twelve (12) endorsement areas; to change the title "Vocational" to Career and Technical Education (CTE) throughout the CTE Licensure Guidelines Document; to add "approval by CTE statements" to endorsement areas that are no longer being issued; to add the veteran teacher experience statement to Career Pathway; Software Development CTE endorsement areas; and to remove the approved courses from all CTE endorsements throughout the CTE guidelines document

Mr. Brett Robinson and Ms. Tonya Gipson presented this information to the Commission. On a motion by Jamie Creel, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the beginning of the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process: To revise the title of twelve (12) endorsement areas; to change the title "Vocational" to Career and Technical Education (CTE) throughout the CTE Licensure Guidelines Document; to add "approval by CTE statements" to endorsement areas that are no longer being issued; to add the veteran teacher experience statement to Career Pathway; software development CTE endorsement areas; and to remove the approved courses from all CTE endorsements throughout the CTE guidelines document.

XIII. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrender (Mr. Scott DeJong)

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the five (5) agreed orders presented for the following educators:

Lisa Cumming Jocelyn Nixon

Educator# 304102 Educator# 318865

Beverly Collins

Educator# 410328

Casey Hill

Educator# 274797

Cory Neese

Educator# 258191

XIV. Adjournment

On a motion from William Murphy, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:40 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Murphy, PH.D., Executive Cory Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development