# Subcommittee for the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Central High School Senator Grey Ferris Boardroom 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201

May 3, 2024

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(10) and 25-41-5, a subcommittee of the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development ("Commission") met at 12:00 p.m. on May 3, 2024, in Senator Grey Ferris Board Room 4<sup>th</sup> Floor, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201.

Members in Attendance:

Dr. Shelly Simmons, William Murphy, Dylan Baldwin

**Commission Counsel:** 

Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General

**OEM Counsel:** 

Joseph Runnels, Esq.

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending: Tilla Tate, Investigator for the Office of Educator Misconduct (OEM) Scott DeJong, Director for the OEM

Others in Attendance: Charlie Alvis, Educator Bobbie Irby-Woodard, Educator Gared Watkins, Educator Jason Owens, Counsel for Gared Watkins

Matters before the Subcommittee:

### I. Case of Charlie Alvis, Educator License No. 337960

Jonathan Dennis, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 12:05 p.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, William Murphy made a motion to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into executive session for the purpose of deliberations and findings concerning the Educator license at issue in the present case. William Murphy seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following people remained in the room: Dr. Shelly Simmons, Dylan Baldwin, William Murphy, and Jonathan Dennis.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

William Murphy moved that the Commission hearing Subcommittee suspend Mississippi Educator License No. 337960 issued to Charlie Alvis for the 2024-2025 academic year. Dylan Baldwin seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously approved the suspension of Respondent's license.

On a motion by William Murphy, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

This matter concluded at 1:20 p.m.

#### II. Case of Bobbie Irby-Woodard, Educator License Application No. 412941

Jonathan Dennis, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 1:30 p.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, William Murphy made a motion to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into executive session for the purpose of deliberations and findings concerning the Educator license at issue in the present case. William Murphy seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following people remained in the room: Dr. Shelly Simmons, Dylan Baldwin, William Murphy, and Jonathan Dennis.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

William Murphy moved that the Commission hearing Subcommittee approve the processing of Mississippi Educator License Application No. 412941 of Bobbie Irby-Woodard. Dylan Baldwin seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously approved the processing of Respondent's license application.

On a motion by William Murphy, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

This matter concluded at 2:01 p.m.

# III. Case of Gared Watkins, Educator License Application No. 154321

Jonathan Dennis, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 2:05 p.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, William Murphy made a motion to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into executive session for the purpose of deliberations and findings concerning the Educator license at issue in the present case. William Murphy seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following people remained in the room: Dr. Shelly Simmons, Dylan Baldwin, William Murphy, and Jonathan Dennis.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

Dylan Baldwin moved that the Commission hearing Subcommittee approve the processing of Mississippi Educator License Application No. 154321 for Gared Watkins. William Murphy seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously approved the processing of Respondent's license application.

On a motion by William Murphy, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

This matter concluded at 2:35 p.m.

# IV. Agreed Orders

Scott DeJong, Director for the Office of Educator Misconduct, presented two (2) proposed Agreed Orders for ratification by the Commission Hearing Subcommittee:

- A. Alison Lumsden, Educator License No. 207276 Standard 9
- B. Michael Caples, Educator License No. 230003 Standard 10

#### V. Adjournment.

On a motion by William Murphy, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to adjourn for the day at 2:41 p.m.

Approved:

Dr. Shelly Simmons, Subcommittee Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development