# Subcommittee for the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Central High School Senator Grey Ferris Boardroom

359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201 August 7, 2024

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(10) and 25-41-5, a subcommittee of the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development ("Commission") met at 9:00 a.m. on August 7, 2024, in Senator Grey Ferris Boardroom, 4th Floor, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201.

Members in Attendance:

Etta Taplin, Kim Hubbard, Dylan Baldwin

Commission Counsel:

Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General

OEM Counsel:

Joseph Runnels, Esq.

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending: Tilla Tate, Investigator for the Office of Educator Misconduct (OEM) Scott DeJong, Director for the OEM

Others in Attendance: Sabrina James, Educator Derrick Wansley, Educator

Matters before the Subcommittee:

### I. Agree Orders

Scott DeJong, Director for the Office of Educator Misconduct, presented one proposed Agreed Order for ratification by the Commission Hearing Subcommittee:

A. Shareda Coleman, Educator License No. 172741 – Standard 4

Kim Hubbard made a motion to approve the proposed agreed order. Dylan Baldwin seconded the motion and the Subcommittee unanimously voted to approve the proposed agreed order.

# II. Case of Sabrina James, Educator License Application No. 413345

Jonathan Dennis, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 9:07 a.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, Kim Hubbard made a motion to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into executive session for the purpose of deliberations and findings concerning the Educator license at issue in the present case. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following people remained in the room: Etta Taplin, Kim Hubbard, Dylan Baldwin and Jonathan Dennis.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

Dylan Baldwin moved that the Commission hearing Subcommittee approve the processing of the licensure application for Sabrina James, Educator License Application No. 413345. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to approve the processing of Respondent's license application.

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

This matter was concluded at 9:38 a.m.

## III. Case of Derrick Wansley, Educator License Application No. 331793

Jonathan Dennis, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 9:41 a.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into closed session. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into executive session for the purpose of deliberations and findings concerning the Educator license at issue in the present case. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following people remained in the room: Etta Taplin, Kim Hubbard, Dylan Baldwin and Jonathan Dennis.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

Dylan Baldwin moved that the Commission hearing Subcommittee approve the processing of the licensure application for Derrick Wansley, Educator License Application No. 331793. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to approve the processing of Respondent's license application.

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

This matter was concluded at 11:22 a.m.

#### IV. Adjournment.

On a motion by Dylan Baldwin, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to adjourn for the day at 11:22 a.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into closed session. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session. Dylan Baldwin made a motion to go into executive session for the purpose of deliberations and findings concerning the Educator license at issue in the present case. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following people remained in the room: Etta Taplin, Kim Hubbard, Dylan Baldwin and Jonathan Dennis.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

Dylan Baldwin moved that the Commission hearing Subcommittee approve the processing of the licensure application for Derrick Wansley, Educator License Application No. 331793. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to approve the processing of Respondent's license application.

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

This matter was concluded at 11:22 a.m.

#### IV. Adjournment.

On a motion by Dylan Baldwin, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to adjourn for the day at 11:22 a.m.

Etta Japlin

Etta Taplin, Subcommittee Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development



Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development