## OFFICE OF CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Consent Agenda January 16, 2020

## OFFICE OF SCHOOL FINANCIAL SERVICES

## F. Appointments for Standing Commission on School District Efficiency

Pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. § 37-7-1001: "The State Board of Education is hereby authorized to establish a Standing Commission on School District Efficiency. The commission shall meet and study the operations, rules, policies and regulations in school districts on an ongoing basis for the purpose of identifying opportunities to increase efficiencies, and to determine appropriate efficiency standards that should be considered for accreditation The commission shall report annually its findings and standards. recommendations to the State Board of Education, and the State Board of Education may make its report and recommendations annually to the Legislature seeking legislative support to achieve efficiencies in school districts. In establishing the Standing Commission on School District Efficiency, the State Board of Education shall provide that the membership not be less than six (6) members. The State Board of Education shall appoint school district employees proficient in the areas of fiscal management, procurement, data processing or other fields of school business, with at least one (1) member being appointed from each congressional district. The commission shall meet on a date designated by the State Superintendent of Education and organize by selecting a chairman and adopt rules for conducting business. Members of the commission shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for necessary travel expenses from any available funds for attending official meetings of the commission. The State Department of Education shall provide necessary administrative and clerical support for the functions of the commission."

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

## Approval of Appointments for Standing Commission on School District Efficiency Commission Members

<b>Current Commission Members:</b>	Term Expiration:
Congressional District 1 Representative	September, 2020
Stacey Graves – DeSoto County School District	
Congressional District 2 Representative	September, 2021
Earl Burke – Hinds County School District	
Congressional District 3 Representative	September, 2019
Susan Cochran– McComb School District	
Congressional District 4 Representative	September, 2019
Stephen May – Forrest County Agricultural High School	
At Large/Local School District Superintendent Representative	September, 2021
David Daigneault - Grenada School District	
At Large Representative	
T. J. Burleson – Pearl River County School District	September, 2020
Recommendations: Congressional District 2 Representative Bret Reynolds Business Manager Carroll County School District  Congressional District 3 Representative Lotis Johnson Finance Coordinator	September, 2022 September, 2022
Quitman School District  Re-Appoint: Congressional District 4 Representative Stephen May Business Manager Forrest County Agricultural High School District	September, 2022