OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda June 20, 2024

OFFICE OF STUDENT ASSESSMENT OFFICE OF ELEMENTARY EDUCATION AND READING

I. <u>Approval to award formula grants to school districts for the purpose of providing</u> reimbursement for K-3 universal screening assessments

<u>Background Information:</u> State statute requires that the Mississippi Department of Education shall select early literacy and numeracy screening assessment instrument or instruments to be used throughout the state in the screening of students in Kindergarten through Grade 3. (Mississippi Code § 37-23-16; Mississippi Code § 37-177-5) The Mississippi Department of Education, in collaboration with Mississippi Reading Panel, has established an approved list of reading screeners to be used by local school districts in grades K-3.

<u>Purpose:</u> Contingent upon availability of funds, districts may be reimbursed on a per-pupil basis for the administration of screeners. To be reimbursed, districts must submit the K-3 Reading Screener Selection Notification and Grant Application for Approved Screeners, as well as beginning-of-year, middle-of-year, and end-of-year data, in accordance with the established timeline and process.

Funds will be awarded based on the following methodology:

Per-pupil grant awards will be based upon enrollment in Pre-K to 3rd grade on October 1 of the prior school year.

<u>Funds available</u> = Per-Pupil Amount Pre-K to 3rd Enrollment

Per-Pupil Amount x *PK-to-3rd-Grade Enrollment* = *Allocation*

Scope of Grant:

•	Grant Period:	June 1 - June 30, 2023
•	Award Amount:	\$1,827,682.74
•	Method of Award:	Formula grant methodology

Funding Source: State funds

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

District	Reimbursement
Aberdeen School District	\$3,494.50
Alcorn School District	\$6,916.00
Ambition Preparatory Charter School District	\$5,698.50
Amite County School District	\$2,117.60
Amory School District	\$6,397.20
Attala County School District	\$6,008.71
Baldwyn School District	\$4,368.35
Bay St Louis Waveland School District	\$8,718.87
Benton County School District	\$4,451.50
Biloxi Public School District	\$27,900.10
Booneville School District	\$5,642.00
Brookhaven School District	\$0.00
Calhoun County School District	\$12,070.91
Canton Public School District	\$14,456.50
Carroll County School District	\$4,029.58
Chickasaw County School District	\$6,264.40
Choctaw County School District	\$7,952.18
Claiborne County School District	\$6,811.06
Clarksdale Collegiate Charter School District	\$3,900.00
Clarksdale Municipal School District	\$10,163.00
Cleveland School District	\$0.00
Clinton Public School District	\$17,200.55
Coahoma County School District	\$4,386.18
Coffeeville School District	\$2,014.79
Columbia School District	\$7,254.50
Columbus Municipal School District	\$19,755.64
Copiah County School District	\$11,115.14
Corinth School District	\$9,624.00
Covington County Schools	\$10,050.00
Desoto County School District	\$145,319.00
East Jasper Consolidated School District	\$4,386.18
East Tallahatchie School District	\$0.00
Enterprise School District	\$2,570.00
Forest Municipal School District	\$0.00
Forrest County School District	\$9,900.00
Franklin County School District	\$2,518.00
George County School District	\$19,270.50
Greene County School District	\$8,105.50
Greenville Public School District	\$19,995.03
Greenwood-Leflore Consolidated School District	\$16,494.66

District	Reimbursement
Grenada School District	\$18,719.50
Gulfport School District	\$28,014.00
Hancock County School District	\$12,384.44
Harrison County School District	\$50,105.00
Hattiesburg Public School District	\$19,879.50
Hazlehurst City School District	\$6,250.00
Hinds County School District	\$22,320.80
Hollandale School District	\$1,783.50
Holly Springs School District	\$6,365.31
Holmes County Consolidate School District	\$10,353.00
Itawamba County School District	\$18,864.14
Jackson County School District	\$37,859.50
Jackson Public School District	\$84,303.00
Jefferson County School District	\$4,350.00
Jefferson Davis County School District	\$2,813.00
Joel E. Smilow Collegiate Charter School District	\$5,486.00
Jones County School District	\$48,889.86
Kemper County School District	\$4,617.97
Kosciusko School District	\$8,337.50
Lafayette County School District	\$14,923.71
Lamar County School District	\$34,106.00
Lauderdale County School District	\$26,765.50
Laurel School District	\$14,386.60
Lawrence County School District	\$7,540.00
Leake County School District	\$13,657.78
Lee County School District	\$35,107.27
Leland School District	\$0.00
Lincoln County School District	\$15,333.80
Long Beach School District	\$11,861.00
Louisville Municipal School District	\$0.00
Lowndes County School District	\$29,144.50
Madison County School District	\$46,250.00
Marion County School District	\$7,844.50
Marshall County School District	\$12,223.50
Mccomb School District	\$9,642.50
Meridian Public School District	\$25,074.00
Mississippi Achievement School District- Humphreys County	\$4,234.00
Mississippi Achievement School District- Yazoo City	\$8,961.00
Mississippi School for the Blind and Deaf	\$534.90
Monroe County School District	\$8,114.40
Moss Point Separate School District	\$0.00

District	Reimbursement
Natchez-Adams School District	\$16,367.94
Neshoba County School District	\$15,210.50
Nettleton School District	\$5,634.28
New Albany Public Schools District	\$7,084.40
Newton County School District	\$6,944.50
Newton Municipal School District	\$4,172.22
North Bolivar School District	\$1,529.75
North Panola School District	\$0.00
North Pike School District	\$8,990.00
North Tippah School District	\$7,027.78
Noxubee County School District	\$7,435.11
Ocean Springs School District	\$23,084.00
Okolona Separate School District	\$0.00
Oxford School District	\$12,951.36
Pascagoula Gautier School District	\$35,873.96
Pass Christian Public School District	\$6,974.50
Pearl Public School District	\$22,869.10
Pearl River County School District	\$9,054.40
Perry County School District	\$4,074.50
Petal School District	\$17,100.00
Philadelphia Public School District	\$4,992.00
Picayune School District	\$0.00
Pontotoc City School District	\$7,738.80
Pontotoc County School District	\$0.00
Poplarville Separate School District	\$8,598.50
Prentiss County School District	\$13,425.99
Quitman County School District	\$5,384.66
Quitman School District	\$8,915.00
Rankin County School District	\$92,897.00
Revive Prep	\$2,745.82
Richton School District	\$2,062.50
Scott County School District	\$19,778.00
Senatobia Municipal School District	\$8,787.00
Simpson County School District	\$13,108.00
Smith County School District	\$9,650.00
South Delta School District	\$1,986.50
South Panola School District	\$22,453.10
South Pike School District	\$6,293.00
South Tippah School District	\$12,819.77
Starkville- Oktibbeha Consolidated School District	\$23,562.50
Stone County School District	\$5,170.00

District	Reimbursement
Sunflower County Consolidate School District	\$11,614.50
Tate County School District	\$10,983.28
Tishomingo County School District	\$10,325.60
Tunica County School District	\$10,822.81
Tupelo Public School District	\$32,713.34
Union County School District	\$11,902.20
Union Public School District	\$5,117.21
Vicksburg Warren School District	\$0.00
Walthall County School District	\$7,511.00
Water Valley School District	\$6,472.29
Wayne County School District	\$14,036.00
Webster County School District	\$3,059.50
West Bolivar School District	\$2,696.00
West Jasper Consolidated School District	\$7,756.05
West Point Consolidated School District	\$13,624.35
West Tallahatchie School District	\$0.00
Western Line School District	\$7,303.00
Wilkinson County School District	\$4,134.00
Winona-Montgomery Consolidated School District	\$6,632.76
Yazoo County School District	\$3,510.80
Total	\$1,827,682.74