OFFICE OF CHIEF OF RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda June 16, 2017

OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

M. <u>Appointments to the Commission on School Accreditation</u>

<u>Background Information</u>: The Commission on School Accreditation is composed of fifteen (15) members, with three (3) representatives from each of the five Congressional districts as established at the time the Commission was authorized under Mississippi Code Annotated §37-17-3. The membership consists of two (2) classroom teachers, two (2) principals of schools, two (2) school district superintendents, two (2) local school board members, and seven (7) individuals who are not actively engaged in the education profession. The length of a regular term is four (4) years, and each member is eligible to serve for two (2) full consecutive terms. The membership of the Commission shall be appointed by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Education, and all appointments to the Commission shall comply with Miss. Code Ann. §37-17-3.

The following Commission positions are vacant due to expirations for the second regular term:

• Due to the completion of a second regular term, there is a Superintendent vacancy in District 1. Brian Harvey, Superintendent, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2017-2021) in Congressional District 1.

Congressional District 1	Brian Harvey
	Superintendent
	First Regular Term 2017-2021

• Due to the completion of a second regular term, there is a Non-Educator vacancy in District 4. Kelle Barfield, Non-Educator, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2017-2021) in Congressional District 4.

Congressional District 4	Kelle Barfield
	Non-Educator
	First Regular Term 2017-2021

The following Commission positions are eligible for re-appointment:

• Due to the completion of the first regular term, John Paul Mistilis, Teacher, is eligible for appointment to the second regular term (2017-2021) in Congressional District 1.

Congressional District 1	John Paul Mistilis
	Teacher
	Second Regular Term 2017-2021

• Due to the completion of the first regular term, Kenny Bush, Non-Educator, is eligible for appointment to the second regular term (2017-2021) in Congressional District 3.

Congressional District 2	Kenny Bush
	Non-educator
	Second Regular Term 2017-2021

• Due to the completion of an unexpired term, Roy Gill, Superintendent, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2017-2021) in Congressional District 5.

Congressional District 5	Roy Gill
	Superintendent
	First Regular Term 2017-2021

• Due to the completion of the first regular term, Anthony Montgomery, Non-Educator, is eligible for appointment to the second regular term (2017-2021) in Congressional District 5.

Congressional District 5	Anthony Montgomery Non-Educator
	Second Regular Term 2017-2021

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material provided at Board meeting