## OFFICE OF CHIEF OF RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda April 20, 2017

## **OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION**

## K. <u>Corrective Action Plan for districts assigned a PROBATION or WITHDRAWN</u> status in accordance with Accreditation Policy 2.8.1

<u>Background Information</u>: In accordance with Accreditation Policy 2.8.1 of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2016*, a school district that has been assigned a PROBATION or WITHDRAWN accreditation status must submit a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) with defined timelines in which to correct the district's deficiencies. In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. § 37-17-6(11) and Policy 2.8.1, the State Board of Education implements the program of development in each district.

The districts submitted the CAPs to the Mississippi Department of Education within sixty (60) days of notification as required. Each program office has reviewed the applicable section of the CAPs and has approved the provided corrective actions and timelines.

The following district CAPs (see attached) are presented for approval:

Ten (10) districts have been assigned a PROBATION status:

- 1. Benton County School District
- 2. Hazlehurst School District
- 3. Kemper County School District
- 4. Okolona School District
- 5. Wayne County School District
- 6. West Bolivar Consolidated School District
- 7. West Tallahatchie School District
- 8. Wilkinson County School District
- 9. Yazoo City School District
- 10. Yazoo County School District

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material provided at Board meeting