OFFICE OF CHIEF OF RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda June 16, 2016

OFFICE OF DISTRICT ACCREDITATION

Q. <u>Appointment to the Commission on School Accreditation</u>

<u>Background Information</u>: The Commission on School Accreditation is composed of fifteen (15) members, with three (3) representatives from each of the five (5) Congressional districts as established at the time the Commission was authorized under Section 37-17-3 of the *Mississippi Code of 1972*, as amended. The membership consists of two (2) classroom teachers, two (2) principals of schools, two (2) school district superintendents, two (2) local school board members, and seven (7) individuals who are not actively engaged in the education profession. The length of a regular term is four (4) years, and each member is eligible to serve for two (2) full consecutive terms. The membership of the Commission shall be appointed by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Education, and all appointments to the Commission shall comply with Section 37-17-3, *Mississippi Code of 1972*, as amended.

The following Commission positions are eligible for re-appointment:

• Due to the completion of the first regular term, Eddie Prather, School Board Member, is eligible for appointment to the second regular term (2016-2020) in Congressional District 1.

Congressional District 1	Eddie Prather
-	School Board Member
	Second Regular Term 2016-2020

• Due to the completion of an unexpired term, Sean Brewer, Principal, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2016-2020) in Congressional District 2.

Congressional District 2	Sean Brewer
	Principal
	First Regular Term 2016-2020

• Due to the completion of an unexpired term, Rob Tyner, Jr., School Board Member, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2016-2020) in Congressional District 2.

Congressional District 2

Rob Tyner, Jr. School Board Member First Regular Term 2016-2020

• Due to the completion of the first regular term, Heather Westerfield, Teacher, is eligible for appointment to the second regular term (2016-2020) in Congressional District 3.

Congressional District 3	Heather Westerfield
	Teacher
	Second Regular Term 2016-2020

• Due to the completion of a second regular term, there is a non-education vacancy in District 2. Valencia Martin, Non-educator, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2016-2020) in Congressional District 2.

Congressional District 2	Valencia Martin
	Non-Educator
	First Regular Term 2016-2020

• Due to the completion of a second regular term, there is a non-education vacancy in District 4. Sarah Foster, Non-educator, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2016-2020) in Congressional District 4.

Congressional District 4	Sarah Foster
	Non-Educator
	First Regular Term 2016-2020

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached