OFFICE OF CHIEF SCHOOL PERFORMANCE OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items January 21, 2016

OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

02. <u>Approval of appointment to the Commission on School Accreditation</u> [Goals 1, 2, 3, and 4 – MDE Strategic Plan]

The Commission on School Accreditation is composed of fifteen (15) members, with three (3) representatives from each of the five Congressional districts as established at the time the Commission was authorized under Section 37-17-3 of the *Mississippi Code of 1972*, as amended. The membership consists of two (2) classroom teachers, two (2) principals of schools, two (2) school district superintendents, two (2) local school board members, and seven (7) individuals who are not actively engaged in the education profession. The length of a regular term is four (4) years, and each member is eligible to serve for two (2) full consecutive terms. The membership of the Commission shall be appointed by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Education, and all appointments to the Commission shall comply with Section 37-17-3, *Mississippi Code of 1972*, as amended.

The following Commission position is vacant:

• Due to the retirement of Mr. Henry Arledge, there is a vacancy to fill an unexpired term (2013-2017), Superintendent, in Congressional District 5.

Congressional District 5:

Roy Gill

Superintendent

Unexpired Term 2013-2017

This item references Goals 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the *Mississippi Board of Education* 2016-2020 Strategic Plan.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached