OFFICE OF CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items March 19-20, 2015

OFFICE OF COMPULSORY SCHOOL ATTENDANCE ENFORCEMENT

12. <u>Approval of methodology to award grants to sponsoring school districts to enhance</u> the educational environment and/or programming for compulsory school age individuals detained in Juvenile Detention Centers

<u>Purpose</u>: The sponsoring school districts, who are designated by the county youth court judge, provide educational services to the youth detainees. The legislature provided a million dollars for the provision of educational services in the fifteen juvenile detention facilities. The money is disseminated to the districts to pay for a teacher's salary and fringe benefits. These funds have been dispersed to the sponsoring school districts for the purpose of employing a teacher and maintaining the computer lab.

The one million dollars allocated by the legislature does not provide funding to support additional needs of the detention center's educational programs. Therefore, the purpose of this grant is to award discretionary funds, utilizing a separate funding source, to enhance educational settings and/or programming for youth detainees. This would include items such as desks, educational boards, computers and computerized educational programs, etc. The grant will support sponsoring school districts in their efforts to comply with current policy objectives, and emerging needs in education.

Eligibility: Interested districts will complete an application for funds.

Funding Source: State Dropout Prevention Funds

<u>Basis for Awarding the Funds</u>: Discretionary The total amount of funds awarded to each applicant <u>will not</u> exceed \$5,000.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

Juvenile Detention Centers	Sponsoring School Districts
Adams County Juvenile Detention Center	Natchez-Adams School District
Alcorn County Juvenile Detention Center	Corinth School District
Desoto County Juvenile Detention Center	DeSoto County School District
Forrest County Juvenile Detention Center	Hattiesburg Public School District
Harrison County Juvenile Detention Center	Biloxi Public School District
Henley Young Juvenile Detention Center	Jackson Public School District
Jackson County Juvenile Detention Center	Pascagoula Municipal School District
Jones County Juvenile Detention Center	Laurel School District
Lee County Juvenile Detention Center	Lee County School District
Leflore County Juvenile Detention Center	Leflore County School District
Lowndes County Juvenile Detention Center	Columbus School District
Rankin County Juvenile Detention Center	Rankin County School District
Warren County Juvenile Detention Center	Vicksburg-Warren School District
Washington County Juvenile Detention Center	Greenville Public School District
Yazoo County Juvenile Detention Center	Yazoo County School District

ſ