

Minutes of the
Commission on School Accreditation
Regular Scheduled Meeting
Senator Gray Ferris Board Room
359 North West Street
Jackson, Mississippi
September 28, 2023
8:30 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place from the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, September 28, 2023, via teleconference. The public was invited to attend in person in the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room or view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Dr. Laurin Bailey, Pearl, MS
Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS
Lori Brechtel, Jackson, MS
Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS
Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS
Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS
Dr. Tyler Hanford, Decatur, MS
Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS
Dr. Valencia Martin, Greenwood, MS
Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS
Brad Stevens, Smithville, MS
Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS
Dr. Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS
Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent:

Jefferson Hughes

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Paula A. Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Erin Meyer, General Counsel Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Ms. Williams joined the meeting at 8:34 a.m. after the adoption of the agenda.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES September 28, 2023

Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Megan Spears, Office of Accreditation Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation Alan Burrow, Office of District and School Performance Timothy Scott, Office of District and School Performance

Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

#### I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a roll-call of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

#### II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Lori Brechtel, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

### III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the June 1, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Anthony Bryant, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the June 1, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation.

### IV. Action: Approval of the minutes of the September 12, 2023, Special-called Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Dr. Tyler Hansford, seconded by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the September 12, 2023, Special-called Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation.

# V. Information: Report of the Internal Review Commission and Preliminary Accountability Results in accordance with Accreditation Policy 3.1.3 of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2023

Dr. Paula Vanderford and Mr. Alan Burrow presented the information to the Commission.

### VI. Discussion: District/School Performance Reports for School Year 2023-2024 (based on School Year 2022-2023)

Dr. Paula Vanderford and Mr. Alan Burrow presented the request to the Commission.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES September 28, 2023

## VII. Action: Approval of District/School Performance Classifications for School Year 2023-2024 (based on School Year 2022-2023)

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the District/School Performance Classifications for School Year 2023-2024 (based on School Year 2022-2023)

#### VIII. Other Business

Ms. Manners reminded Commission members of the Special-called teleconference CSA Meeting on Thursday, October 26, 2023, at 8:30 a.m. to assign annual accreditation statuses and the next regular meeting scheduled for Thursday, December 7, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

### IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Valencia Martin, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 8:58 a.m.

#### APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

December 7		2023
(Month)	(Day)	(Year)

Panelelhanner Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission