

Minutes of the
Commission on School Accreditation
Special-Called Teleconference Meeting
Central High School Building
359 North West Street
Jackson, Mississippi
September 12, 2023
3:00 p.m.

A special-called meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 12, 2023. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel or in person in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS
Dr. Laurin Bailey, Pearl, MS
Kelle Barfield, Ghana
Lori Brechtel, Jackson, MS
Anthony Bryant, Lee County, MS
Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS
Dr. Tyler Hansford, Decatur, MS
Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS
Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS
Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent:

Reginald Goins Jefferson Hughes Dr. Valencia Martin Brad Stevens Jan Vaughn

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation
Megan Spears Clark, Office of Accreditation
Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation
J. Christopher Haynes, Office of Accreditation
Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation
Alan Burrow, Executive Director, District and School Performance

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES September 12, 2023

Dr. Jackie Sampsell, Director, Office of Student Assessment Melissa Beck, Office of Student Assessment Libby Cook, Office of Student Assessment Robert Ward, Office of Student Assessment

Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

After Dr. Malone introduced the new Commission members, Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Anthony Bryant, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

III. Action: Election of the 2023-2024 Chair of the Commission on the School Accreditation

Upon the nomination by Lori Brechtel, seconded by Anthony Bryant, with no others nominated, the Commission unanimously voted to re-elect Pamela Manners as the Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation for 2023 – 2024.

IV. Action: Election of the 2023-2024 Vice-Chair of the Commission on the School Accreditation

Upon the nomination by Pamela Manners, seconded by Dr. Tyler Hansford, with no others nominated, the Commission unanimously voted to elect Dr. Carla Evers as the Vice-Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation for 2023 – 2024.

V. Action: Approval to change the September 26, 2023 meeting date to September 28, 2023

On a motion by Anthony Bryant, seconded by Dr. Tyler Hansford, the Commission unanimously voted to change the September 26, 2023 meeting date to September 28, 2023.

VI. Information: 2022 – 2023 Assessment Results

Dr. Jackie Sampsell and Mr. Alan Burrow presented the 2022 – 2023 Assessment Results to the Commission members.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES September 12, 2023

XVII. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Tyler Hansford, seconded by Anthony Bryant, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 3:25 p.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

Acot. 28 2023 Month) (Day) (Year

Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission