

Minutes of the
Commission on School Accreditation
Regular Scheduled Meeting
Woolfolk Building – Room 145
501 North West Street
Jackson, Mississippi
September 27, 2022
10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place from the Woolfolk Building, Room 145, 501 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, September 27, 2022. The public was invited to attend in person in Room 145 or view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel.

Commission members present in Room 145 included:

Pamela Manners, Chair Kelle Barfield Reginald Goins Dr. Valencia Martin¹ Brett Robinson Sarah Wansley Ingrid Williams

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Dr. Lundy Brantley, Neshoba County School District Office Lori Brechtel, Brandon, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS Jefferson Hughes, Covington County School District Brad Stevens, Amory, MS

Members absent:

Aisha Maxwell Jan Vaughn

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Kim Benton, State Superintendent of Education, Interim Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Alan Burrow, Executive Director of District and School Performance

¹ Dr. Martin joined the meeting at 10:11 a.m. during the discussion of Item V.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES September 27, 2022

Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Megan Spears, Office of Accreditation

Baylea Blough, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Jefferson Hughes, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the June 2, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Sarah Wansley, seconded by Reginald Goins, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the June 2, 2022, meeting.

IV. Information: Report of the Internal Review of Preliminary Accountability Results in accordance with Accreditation Policy 3.1.3 of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2022.

Mr. Alan Burrow presented information to the Commission and answered questions posed by Commission members.

V. Discussion: District/School Performance Reports for School Year 2022-2023 (based on School Year 2021-2022), with the stipulation that the information will not become official until September 29, 2022

Mr. Burrow presented the request to the Commission. Dr. Brantley commended the MDE team for their hard work. Dr. Martin asked for additional explanations about the on-demand tutoring. Dr. Kim Benton, State Superintendent, Interim, explained the difference between high-dosage tutoring and on-demand tutoring.

VI. Action: Approval of District/School Performance Classifications for School Year 2022-2023 (based on School Year 2021-2022), with the stipulation that the information will not become official until September 29, 2022

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES September 27, 2022

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the District/School Performance Classifications for School Year 2022-2023 (based on School Year 2021-2022) with the stipulation that the information will not become official until September 29, 2022

VII. Other Business

Dr. Malone informed the Commission of the need to have a special-called teleconference meeting to the assign the annual accreditation statuses. The Commission agreed to hold the special-called meeting on Monday, October 31, 2022.

Dr. Malone informed the Commission of Mr. Grant Dickenson's resignation due to his newly appointed position and the need to fill his vacancy with a special education representative.

Dr. Malone also provided an update on the renovation of the Central High School building, introduced a new accreditation staff member and reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, December 1, 2022.

XVII. Adjournment

On a motion by Sarah Wansley, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:34 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

(Month) (Day) (Year)

Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission