

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Meeting Senator Gray Ferris Board Room 359 North West Street Jackson, Mississippi June 1, 2023 10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place from the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, June 1, 2023. The public was invited to attend in person in the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room or view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS Dr. Lundy Brantley, Neshoba County School District Office Lori Brechtel, Brandon, MS Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian Public School District Office Reginald Goins, Horn Lake, MS Jefferson Hughes, Collins, MS Dr. Valencia Martin, Greenwood, MS Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS Brad Stevens, Tishomingo County, MS Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS

Members absent:

Kelle Barfield Sarah Wilborn Ingrid Williams

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Mike Kent, Interim State Superintendent Dr. Paula A. Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Dr. Donna Boone, Chief Academic Officer Sonya Amis, Deputy State Superintendent Tracie Riggin, Director of Internal Audit Erin Meyer, General Counsel Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES June 1, 2023

Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation Megan Spears Clark, Office of Accreditation Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation

Kristi Kennedy, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

### I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

### II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by, Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

# III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the April 6, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the April 6, 2023, meeting.

## IV. Discussion: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022, specifically Appendix H

Mr. Mike Kent, Interim State Superintendent, presented the request, including a letter from the Office of the State Auditor, to the Commission. Mr. Kent and Sonya Amis answered questions of Commission members.

# V. Action: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to approve a temporary rule and begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022*, specifically Appendix H

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission voted unanimously to submit a request to the State Board of Education to approve a temporary rule and begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2022, specifically Appendix H.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES June 1, 2023

### VI. Action: Approval of meeting dates of the Commission on School Accreditation for the 2023-2024 school year

On a motion by Lori Brechtel, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the meeting dates of the Commission on School Accreditation for the 2023-2024 school year.

### VII. MDE Updates

Dr. Malone explained that the Office of Safe and Orderly Schools is continuing to gather stakeholder feedback regarding bus drills that were discussed in the April 6, 2023, meeting. The Office of Safe and Orderly Schools plans to present additional information at a future Commission meeting.

### VIII. Other Business

Ms. Manners reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Tuesday, September 26, 2023.

Dr. Malone asked that any Commission members affiliated with a school district please notify her of any upcoming changes to ensure that the make-up of the Commission remains in compliance with state statute and thanked Dr. Brantley for his service to the Commission.

#### IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Brad Stevens, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:22 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

<u>Agot, 28</u> 2023 (Month) (Day) (Year)

Panela Manners

Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission