

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Meeting Central High School Building 359 North West Street Jackson, Mississippi February 3, 2022 10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, February 3, 2022. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel. Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS Lori Brechtel, Brandon, MS Grant Dickinson, Ocean Springs, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS Reginald Goins, Senatobia, MS Dr. Valencia Martin, Greenwood, MS<sup>1</sup> Aisha Maxwell, Olive Branch, MS Brett Robinson, Clinton, MS Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS Sarah Wansley, Ellisville, MS Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent:

Dr. Lundy Brantley Jefferson Hughes Brad Stevens

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Alan Burrow, Executive Director, Office of District and School Performance Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Angela Kitchens, Office of Accreditation

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>11</sup> Dr. Martin joined the meeting at approximately 10:09 a.m. during the presentation of Item IV.

Erin Meyer, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission. Baylea Blough, Special Assistant Attorney General, was also in attendance.

## I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

# II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

# III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the December 2, 2021, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Sarah Wansley, seconded by Brett Robinson, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the December 2, 2021, meeting.

# IV. Discussion: Consideration of request to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2021 specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 25 College- and Career-Readiness, Section 9, Acceleration, Section 7, Lowest Performing Students, and Section 3, N-Count Minimums

Mr. Alan Burrow, Executive Director, Office of District and School Performance, presented the request to the Commission.

Commission members asked clarifying questions of Mr. Burrow.

V. Action: Approval to submit request to State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2021* specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 25 College- and Career-Readiness, Section 9, Acceleration, Section 7, Lowest Performing Students, and Section 3, N-Count Minimums

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously voted to submit request to State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2021* specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 25 College- and Career-Readiness, Section 9, Acceleration, Section 7, Lowest Performing Students, and Section 3, N-Count Minimums

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES February 3, 2022

## VI. Other Business

Ms. Manners reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, April 7, 2022.

Dr. Malone informed the Commission that they will be getting information about a special-called meeting in the upcoming weeks. Dr. Vanderford and Mr. Burrow explained the need for the meeting centered around needed revisions to the current accountability model.

Dr. Malone informed the Commission of recent legislation that redraws congressional districts lines and the possibility of future impact on the make-up of the Commission membership.

# IV. Adjournment

On a motion by Sarah Wansley, seconded by Grant Dickenson, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:32 a.m.

## APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

12 (Day) (Month)

Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission