

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Meeting Woolfolk Building – Room 138 501 North West Street Jackson, Mississippi February 2, 2023 10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place from the Woolfolk Building, Room 138, 501 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, February 2, 2023. The public was invited to attend in person in Room 138 or view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS Dr. Lundy Brantley, Neshoba County School District Office Lori Brechtel, Brandon, MS Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS Reginald Goins, Horn Lake, MS Jefferson Hughes, Covington County School District Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS Brad Stevens, Jackson, MS Sarah (Wansley) Wilborn, Ellisville, MS Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent:

Dr. Valencia Martin Brett Robinson

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Robert P. Taylor, State Superintendent of Education Dr. Paula A. Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Erin Meyer, General Counsel Dr. Felicia Gavin, Chief of Staff Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES February 2, 2023

Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Megan Spears, Office of Accreditation Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation Wendy Clemons, Associate State Superintendent Dr. Marla Davis Associate State Superintendent Dr. Tenette Smith, Executive Director, Elementary Education and Reading Melissa Banks, Office of Elementary Education and Reading Tammy Crosetti, Office of Secondary Education Dr. Lea Johnson, Office of Secondary Education

Jay Woods, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

### I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

## II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

## III. MDE Updates

Dr. Jo Ann Malone welcomed new Commission member, Mr. Anthony Bryant to the Commission as the newly appointed special education representative and introduced Dr. Robert Taylor as the new State Superintendent of Education. Dr. Taylor addressed the Commission.

# IV. Action: Approval of the minutes of the September 27, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Sarah (Wansley) Wilborn, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the September 27, 2022, meeting.

## V. Action: Approval of the minutes of the October 31, 2022, Special-Called Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Lori Brechtel, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the October 31, 2022, special-called meeting.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES February 2, 2023

VI. Discussion: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022, specifically Process Standards 13 and 27, Appendices A-6 – A-10, A-12, and B-2, and the Glossary, to become effective for the 2023 – 2024 school year.

Wendy Clemons presented information to the Commission. Ms. Clemons, Dr. Tenette Smith and Melissa Banks and answered questions posed by Commission members.

VII. Action: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022*, specifically Process Standards 13 and 27, Appendices A-6 – A-10, A-12, and B-2, and the Glossary, to become effective for the 2023 – 2024 school year.

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Reginald Goins, the Commission voted unanimously to submit request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022*, specifically Process Standards 13 and 27, Appendices A-6 – A-10, A-12, and B-2, and the Glossary, to become effective for the 2023 – 2024 school year.

#### VIII. Other Business

Dr. Malone provided an update on the renovation of the Central High School building and reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, April 6, 2023.

### IX. Adjournment

On a motion by (Sarah Wansley) Wilborn, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:23 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

Q (Dav)

anela Mann Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission

3