

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Meeting Senator Gray Ferris Board Room 359 North West Street Jackson, Mississippi December 7, 2023 10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference from the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 7, 2023. The public was invited to attend in person in the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room or view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS Dr. Laurin Bailey, Pearl, MS Kelle Barfield, Atlanta, GA Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS Dr. Tyler Hansford, Decatur, MS Dr. Valencia Martin, Greenwood, MS Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS Dr. Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent:

Lori Brechtel Jefferson Hughes Brad Stevens

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Jackie Sampsell, State Assessment Director, Office of Student Assessment Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Megan Spears Clark, Office of Accreditation Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Dawn Tassin, Office of Accountability Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES December 7, 2023

Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the September 28, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, seconded by Jan Vaughn, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the September 28, 2023, meeting.

IV. Action: Approval of the minutes of the October 26, 2023, Special-Called Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Laurin Bailey, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the October 26, 2023, special-called meeting.

V. Discussion: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2023, specifically Appendix F (Dr. Jackie Sampsell, State Assessment Director)

Dr. Sampsell presented the request to the Commission and Commission members asked clarifying questions. Dr. Sampsell stated that MDE's legal counsel has requested changing the term "must" to "shall."

VI. Action: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to approve a temporary rule and to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023,* specifically Appendix F

On a motion by Anthony Bryant, seconded by Dr. Laurin Bailey, the Commission voted unanimously to submit a request to the State Board of Education to approve a temporary rule and begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023*, specifically Appendix F.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES December 7, 2023

VII. Other Business

Dr. Jo Ann Malone asked the Commission if they wanted to consider changing the time of the February 1, 2024, April 4, 2023, and June 6, 2024, regularly scheduled meetings.

On a motion by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, seconded by Dr. Laurin Bailey, the Commission unanimously voted to change the meeting time to 8:30 a.m. for the February 1, 2024, April 4, 2024, and June 6, 2024, regularly scheduled meetings.

Dr. Malone reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, February 1, 2024, at 8:30 a.m.

IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Valencia Martin, seconded by Dr. Tyler Hansford, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:27 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

February 1, 2024

(Month) (Year) (Day) Leman Chair of the Confimission Executive Secretary of the Commission