

Minutes of the
Commission on School Accreditation
Regular Scheduled Meeting
Senator Gray Ferris Board Room
359 North West Street
Jackson, Mississippi
April 6, 2023
10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place from the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 6, 2023. The public was invited to attend in person in the Senator Gray Ferris Board Room or view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS
Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS
Dr. Lundy Brantley, Neshoba County School District Office
Lori Brechtel, Brandon, MS
Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS
Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS
Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS
Jefferson Hughes, Covington County School District¹
Dr. Valencia Martin, Greenwood, MS²
Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS
Brad Stevens, Tupelo, MS
Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS
Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS
Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent: None

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Paula A. Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Erin Meyer, General Counsel Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation

¹ Mr. Hughes joined the meeting at approximately 10:13 a.m. during the discussion of Item VI. ² Dr. Martin joined the meeting at approximately 10:14 a.m. during the discussion of Item VI.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES April 6, 2023

Megan Spears, Office of Accreditation
Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation
Alan Burrow, Office of District and School Performance
Brian McGairty, Office of Safe and Orderly Schools
Jonathan Tillman, Office of Safe and Orderly Schools

Jennifer Nichols, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Brad Stevens, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the February 27, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Lori Brechtel, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the February 2, 2023, meeting.

IV. Action: Approval to upgrade the accreditation status of the Wayne County School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Sarah Wilborn, the Commission unanimously voted to upgrade the accreditation status of the Wayne County School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED

V. Action: Approval to upgrade the accreditation status of the Leland School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED

On a motion by Kelly Barfield, seconded by Jan Vaughn, the Commission unanimously voted to upgrade the accreditation status of the Leland School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED

VI. Discussion: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 9, Acceleration, Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10th grade, Section 15, English Learners (EL), Section 19, Rounding, Section 25, College- and Career-Readiness Indicator, and Section 27, Other

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES April 6, 2023

Alan Burrow presented the request to the Commission and Commission members asked clarifying questions.

VII. Action: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 9, Acceleration, Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10th grade, Section 15, English Learners (EL), Section 19, Rounding, Section 25, College- and Career-Readiness Indicator, and Section 27, Other

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Jefferson Hughes, the Commission voted unanimously to submit a request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 9, Acceleration, Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10th grade, Section 15, English Learners (EL), Section 19, Rounding, Section 25, College- and Career-Readiness Indicator, and Section 27, Other

VIII. Discussion: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022, specifically Process Standards 29.1, 29.2, 29.3, and 29.4 (Transportation) and to establish Process Standards 29.5 and 29.6

Brian McGairty and Johnathan Tillman presented the requests to the Commission and Commission members asked clarifying questions.

IX. Action: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2022, specifically Process Standards 29.1, 29.2, 29.3, and 29.4 (Transportation) and to establish Process Standards 29.5 and 29.6

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Jefferson Hughes, the Commission voted unanimously to submit a request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2022, specifically Process Standards 29.1, 29.2, and 29.3, but not 29.4 (Transportation) and to establish Process Standards 29.5 and 29.6.

The Commission requested further clarifications on the proposed edits to Process Standard 29.4; therefore, the Commission did not take action related to Process Standard 29.4 and the MDE will bring back revisions for consideration in a future Commission meeting.

X. MDE Updates

Dr. Jo Ann Malone shared that Commission member Dr. Lundy Brantley will be retiring at the end of the school year and Mr. Brett Robinson had resigned from the Commission because he will be joining the Mississippi Department of Education as the new CTE Director at the

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES April 6, 2023

conclusion of the school year. Dr. Malone provided an update on the renovation of the Central High School building and informed the Commission of the recent appointment of Mr. Mike Kent as the Interim State Superintendent of Education.

XI. Other Business

Ms. Manners reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, June 1, 2023.

IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Sarah Wilborn, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:47 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

onth) (Day)

Parnela Manners
Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission