

Minutes of the
Commission on School Accreditation
Regular Scheduled Meeting
Central High School Building
Senator Grey Ferris Board Room
359 North West Street
Jackson, Mississippi
December 2, 2021
10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 2, 2021. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel. Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Pamela Manners, Chair, Biloxi, MS
Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS
Dr. Lundy Brantley, Neshoba County, MS
Lori Brechtel, South Lake, Texas
Dr. Carla Evers, Gulfport, MS
Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS
Jefferson Hughes, Collins, MS
Brett Robinson, Clinton, MS
Brad Stevens, Monroe County, MS
Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS
Sarah Wansley, Ellisville, MS
Ingrid Williams, Jackson, MS

Members absent:

Grant Dickinson Dr. Valencia Martin Aisha Maxwell

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer
Lea Johnson, Office of Professional Development and Innovative Programs
Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation
Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation
Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation
Angela Kitchens, Office of Accreditation

Erin Meyer, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Jefferson Hughes, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the October 19, 2021, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Lori Brechtel, seconded by Dr. Lundy Brantley, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the October 19, 2021, meeting.

IV. Discussion: Consideration of request to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2021 (Appendix A-9: Distinguished Academic Endorsement)

Dr. Lea Johnson, Bureau Director, Office of Professional Development and Innovative Programs, presented the request to the Commission.

V. Action: Approval to submit request to State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2021 (Appendix A-9: Distinguished Academic Endorsement)

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to submit request to State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2021 (Appendix A-9: Distinguished Academic Endorsement)

VI. Other Business

Ms. Manners reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, February 3, 2022.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES December 2, 2021

Attorney Meyer introduced Ms. Baylea Blough, Special Assistant Attorney General, who will be assisting the Commission in future meetings.

IV. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Brad Stevens, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:13 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

Month) (Day) (Year

Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission