

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Teleconference meeting April 4, 2024 8:30 a.m.

A regular meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, April 4, 2024. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel or in person in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Dr. Laurin Bailey, Pearl, MS Kelle Barfield, Jersey City, NJ Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Gulfport, MS Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS Patrice Guilfoyle, Jackson, MS Dr. Tyler Hansford, Decatur, MS Pamela Manners, (Chair), Biloxi, MS Dr. Valencia Martin, Greenwood, MS Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS Brad Stevens, Smithville, MS¹ Dr. Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS

Members absent: Ingrid Williams

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Associate State Superintendent/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Erin Meyer, General Counsel Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation J. Christopher Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation Other MDE staff present included:

Alan Burrow, Executive Director, District and School Performance Dr. Donna H. Boone, Chief Academic Officer

Jennifer Nichols, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a roll call of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to remove Item VII from the agenda. On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously voted to adopt the amended agenda.

III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the February 1, 2024, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Anthony Bryant, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2024, meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation.

IV. Discussion: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2023, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System (Alan Burrow)

- Section 4, Participation Rates;
- Section 6, Growth;
- Section 9, Acceleration;
- Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10th grade;
- Section 11, Comprehensive Support and Improvement Schools (CSI);
- Section 12, Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (TSI);
- Section 13, Additional Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (ATSI);
- Section 22, Schools without Tested Subjects or Grades.

Alan Burrow presented the information to the Commission. Dr. Carla Evers asked that Section 9.6 be revised to include all accelerated courses.

V. Action: Approval to submit a request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) Process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24,

Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System

- Section 4, Participation Rates,
- Section 6, Growth;
- Section 9, Acceleration;
- Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10th grade;
- Section 11, Comprehensive Support and Improvement Schools (CSI);
- Section 12, Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (TSI);
- Section 13, Additional Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (ATSI);
- Section 22, Schools without Tested Subjects or Grades.

On a motion by Dr. Tyler Hansford, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to submit a request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023*, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System

- Section 4, Participation Rates,
- Section 6, Growth;
- Section 9, Acceleration;
- Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10th grade;
- Section 11, Comprehensive Support and Improvement Schools (CSI);
- Section 12, Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (TSI);
- Section 13, Additional Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (ATSI);
- Section 22, Schools without Tested Subjects or Grades.

with the proposed revision to Rule 6.2 to include accelerated courses.

VI. Action: Consideration of a waiver request from Itawamba County School District for Process Standard 2.1 (Principal Duties) of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023* for School Year 2023-2024

Dr. Jo Ann Malone presented this information to the Commission.

On a motion by Brad Stevens, seconded by Dr. Laurin Bailey, the Commission unanimously voted to waive Process Standard 2.1 (Principal Duties) of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023* for School Year 2023-2024 for the Itawamba County School District.

VII. (Removed)

VIII. Other Business

Dr. Malone welcomed new Commission member Patrice Guilfoyle and informed the Commission that Jan Vaughn had resigned from the Commission. Dr. Malone also reminded

Commission members that the next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, June 6, 2024, at 8:30 a.m.

IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Tyler Hansford, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 8:57 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION

09/17/24 (Day) (Year) (Month) PManners Chair of the Commission cutive Secretary of the Commission E/x)