

Minutes of the
Commission on School Accreditation
Regular Scheduled Meeting
Central High School Building
359 North West Street
Jackson, Mississippi
April 12, 2022
10:00 a.m.

The regular scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place in person, via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, April 12, 2022. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel. Commission members present at Central High School included:

Pamela Manners, Chair Kelle Barfield Aisha Maxwell Brett Robinson Ingrid Williams

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Dr. Lundy Brantley, Neshoba County School District Central Office Lori Brechtel, Brandon, MS Grant Dickinson, Ocean Springs, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS Jefferson Hughes, Collins, MS Dr. Valencia Martin, Greenwood, MS Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS Sarah Wansley, Ellisville, MS

Members absent:

**Brad Stevens** 

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer
Alan Burrow, Executive Director, Office of District and School Performance Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation
Chris Haynes, Office of Accreditation
Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES April 12, 2022

### Angela Kitchens, Office of Accreditation

Erin Meyer, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission. Baylea Blough and Johnathan Dennis, Special Assistants Attorney Generals, were also in attendance.

#### I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 10:18 a.m.

### II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

## III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the February 3, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Lori Brechtel, seconded by Brett Robinson, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the February 3, 2022, meeting.

## IV. Action: Approval of the minutes of the March 24, 2022, Special-Called Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Grant Dickinson, seconded by Dr. Valencia Martin, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the March 24, 2022, special-called meeting.

V. Discussion: Consideration of request to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2021 specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10<sup>th</sup> grade; Section 11, Comprehensive Support and Improvement Schools (CSI); Section 12, Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (TSI); and Section 13, Additional Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (ATSI)

Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer, explained that the original request was presented to the State Board of Education on March 17, 2022 to begin the APA process, before being presented to the Commission on School Accreditation due to its time sensitive nature. She also explained the need for temporary adjustments to the accountability model and how the chart that was provided to the Commission members during the meeting contained a summary of the comments received as well as MDE's response to the comments.

# Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES April 12, 2022

Mr. Alan Burrow, Executive Director, Office of District and School Performance, presented the request to the Commission, explained the original proposal that was submitted to the State Board of Education, the comments the MDE received, and the MDE's revised proposal.

Commission members asked clarifying questions of Mr. Burrow.

VI. Action: Approval to submit request to State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2021 specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 10, Banking Scores: End-of-course, subject area assessments taken before 10<sup>th</sup> grade; Section 11, Comprehensive Support and Improvement Schools (CSI); Section 12, Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (TSI); and Section 13, Additional Targeted Support and Improvement Schools (ATSI)

On a motion by Dr. Lundy Brantley, seconded by Jan Vaughn, following additional discussion, the Commission voted 13-1 to submit request to State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2021 specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 25 College- and Career-Readiness, Section 9, Acceleration, Section 7, Lowest Performing Students, and Section 3, N-Count Minimums.

Members voting aye:
Kelle Barfield
Dr. Lundy Brantley
Lori Brechtel
Grant Dickinson
Reginald Goins
Jefferson Hughes
Pamela Manners, Chair
Dr. Valencia Martin
Aisha Maxwell
Brett Robinson
Jan Vaughn
Sarah Wansley
Ingrid Williams

Members voting <u>nay</u>: Dr. Carla Evers

Members abstaining: None

Members absent: Brad Stevens

# Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES April 12, 2022

#### VII. Other Business

Ms. Manners thanks everyone for their hard work and reminded Commission members that the next regular scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, June 2, 2022 and that officers for the 2022-2023 school year would need to be elected at that time.

### IV. Adjournment

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 11:24 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

Executive Secretary of the Commission

Month) (1

Chair of the Commission