

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure, and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, January 5, 2024, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

James Creel Rebecca Gray Mary Hill-Taylor Kim Hubbard William D. Murphy Dr. Teresa Jayroe Dr. Bernell Kelly David Martin Dr. Teresa Poole Dr. Shelly Simmons Etta Taplin Dylan Baldwin Aaron Wilson John Howard

Members Absent:

None

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending:

Dr. Cory Murphy	Dr. Debra Burson	Dawn Tassin
Dr. Paula Vanderford	Scott DeJong	Lori Hartley

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Johnathan Dennis, Attorney

I. Call to Order

Chairman David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, January 5, 2024, at 10:01 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Dylan Baldwin	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
James Creel	Present, Ridgeland, MS
Rebecca Gray	Present, Iuka, MS

Mary Hill-Taylor	Present, Bailey, MS
John Howard	Present, Clarksdale, MS
Kim Hubbard	Present, Flowood, MS
Dr. Teresa Jayroe	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
Dr. Bernell Kelly	Present, Gulfport, MS
David Martin	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
Dr. Teresa Poole	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
Dr. Shelly Simmons	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
Etta Taplin	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
Aaron D. Wilson	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
William D. Murphy	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS

A quorum of the Commission is present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and /or teleconference means.

III. Approval of the minutes of the November 3, 2023, meeting of the Commission of Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the November 3, 2023, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of November 3, 2023,

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Rebecca Gray, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the November 3, 2023, subcommittee meeting.

V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of November 15, 2023

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Dr. Shelly Simmons, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the November 15, 2023, subcommittee meeting.

VI. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of December 6, 2023

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Dr. Shelly Simmons, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the December 6, 2023, subcommittee meeting.

VII. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from William D. Murphy, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

VIII. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy) Office of Educator Continuum Division of Educator Preparation Workforce Update (Dr. Debra Burson)

Dr. Murphy thanked William Hamilton for his service to the Commission. Mr. Hamilton completed one (1) of two (2) four (4) year terms as a Commission member. He did not wish to seek reappointment.

Dr. Burson presented the Mississippi Department of Education Educator Preparation Provider Annual Report is for the 2021 - 2022 school year. She noted that a one (1) year lag exists for the report due to data collection and processing after the survey closes.

IX. Approval of iteach Mississippi as an approved Educator Preparation Provider (EPP) to offer a non-traditional pathway to teacher licensure and to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Miss Admin. Code 7-4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12, to include requirements for teacher licensure specific to prospective iteach Mississippi program completers (Dr. Cory Murphy)

On November 29, 2023, an Ad Hoc Committee met at the Central High School Building in Jackson, Mississippi to identify additional criteria for the proposed iteach Mississippi non-traditional pathway to teacher licensure. David Martin, Dr. Teresa Jayroe, Dr. Teresa Poole, Jamie Creel, and William D. Murphy served as members of the Ad Hoc Committee. The item presented outlined specific details under which iteach Mississippi will be required to operate as an Educator Preparation Provider along with criteria to be met by prospective educators seeking to obtain licensure through this pathway in Mississippi if approved by the State Board of Education.

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted 11 to 3 to approve the motion.

Licensure Commission members voting in favor of the iteach Mississippi proposal were

Dylan Baldwin	James Creel
John Howard	Kim Hubbard
David Martin	William D. Murphy
Etta Taplin	Aaron Wilson

Rebecca Gray Dr. Bernell Kelly Dr. Shelly Simmons

Licensure Commission members voting in opposition of the iteach Mississippi proposal were

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Dr. Teresa Poole

Mary Hill-Taylor

X. Approval of ratifications of 7 agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott DeJong)

Mr. Scott DeJong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration. On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the 7 agreed orders presented for the following educators:

Standard 10 Latosha Davis 187366 Tony Roach 262456

Standard 9 Sparkle Davis 302867 Latoya Stewart 244479 Katara Brown 263230 Alyce Nash 244731 Thomas Walker 312833

XI. Adjournment

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:40 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development

Cory Murphy, PH.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development