

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Teleconference Meeting July 8, 2022 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, July 8, 2022, in room 145 located at Woolfolk State Office Building, 501 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

William Hamilton Kim Hubbard David Martin Etta Taplin Mary Hill-Taylor Dr. Teresa Jayroe Dr. Teresa Poole John Howard Dr. Bernell Kelly Dr. Shelly Simmons

Members Absent:

James Creel

Rebecca Gray

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending via Teleconference:

Dr. Debra Burson Scott Dejong Dr. Cory Murphy Wendy Clemmons Tanya Gipson Dr. Courtney Van Cleve Erica Coleman Brian McGairty Vanessa Wilbert

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, July 8, 2022, at 10:13 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

William Hamilton	Present, via teleconference, Oxford, MS
Mary Hill-Taylor	Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS
John Howard	Present, via teleconference, Clarksdale, MS
Kim Hubbard	Present, via teleconference, Flowood, MS
Dr. Teresa Jayroe	Present, via teleconference, Starkville, MS
Dr. Bernell Kelly	Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, MS
David Martin	Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS
Dr. Teresa Poole	Present, via teleconference, Hattiesburg, MS
Dr. Shelly Simmons	Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS
Etta Taplin	Present, via teleconference, Ruth, MS

David Martin announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

III. Approval of the minutes of the May 6, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Jayroe, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the May 6, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of May 6, 2022

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the hearing subcommittee minutes for May 6, 2022.

V. Adoption of the Agenda

On a motion from Mary Hill-Taylor, seconded by Teresa Poole, the Commission voted unanimously to adopt the agenda.

VI. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Murphy announced the relocation of the Office of Teaching and Leading which is currently housed on the Campus of MS School of Death and Blind. Dr. Murphy also announced that the Commission meetings will take place in room 145 located at Woolfolk State Office Building, 501 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201.Parking is on a first come first serve basis, at this time there are no reserved parking locations. VII. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to include requirements for the issuance of the Special License, Expert Citizen – Teacher License as set forth in House Bill 1388 of the 2022 legislative session; establish criteria for renewal of this Special License and Class Level at which license shall be issued (Dr. Cory Murphy).

On a motion from John Howard, seconded by William Hamilton, the Commission voted unanimously to approve beginning the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 - 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to include requirements for the issuance of the Special License, Expert Citizen – Teacher License as set forth in House Bill 1388 of the 2022 legislative session; establish criteria for renewal of this Special License and Class Level at which license shall be issued

VIII. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Mississippi State Board of Education Policy Chapter 14, Rule 14.10 to add Deans of Educator Preparation Providers (EPPs) to the list of required mandatory reporters for infractions delineated under Miss. Code Ann. § 37-3-2 (Dr. Debra Burson and Mr. Scott DeJong)

On a motion from Mary Hill-Taylor, seconded by Dr. Teresa Jayroe, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the educator preparation programs as recommended by the Division of Educator Preparation.

IX. Discussion and/or approval of proposed educator preparation program that would lead to a supplemental endorsement in the area of Teacher Leadership (Dr. Debra Burson, Dr. Betsey Smith, Dr. Myra Pannell, and Dr. Cindy Ming)

Etta Taplin made a motion to take the item presented under advisement until additional information is received, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted to take under advisement, the proposal to establish an educator preparation supplemental endorsement program that would lead to licensure in the area of Teacher Leadership. Teresa Jayroe recused herself at 11:12AM and was contacted to return following the vote.

X. Discussion and/or Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to include a Resident Teacher License for resident teachers once unconditionally admitted to a State Board of Education-approved Mississippi Teacher Residency program (Dr. Courtney Van Cleve)

On a motion from John Howard, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve to revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 - 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to include a Resident Teacher License for resident teachers once unconditionally admitted to a State Board of Education-approved Mississippi Teacher Residency program. Dr. Teresa Poole and Dr. Teresa Jayroe recused themselves at 11:26AM and was contacted to return following the vote.

XI. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott Dejong)

Mr. Scott DeJong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration for approval by the members of the Commission.

On a motion from Mary Hill-Taylor, seconded by Teresa Poole the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agreed orders presented for the following educators:

186753 Joseph Furdge 223435 Ashley Henry 330250 Jamie Smith 250264 James Gore 242038 Sherry Shack

172848 Paul Barnes 316987 Carlie Saxton 190882 Laquita Haywood 276372 Charles Westerfield 174762 Shondria Proctor

297689 Allison Heimer 180308 Lori Johnson 221844 Kimberly Baker

XII. Adjournment

On a motion by John Howard, seconded by William Hamilton, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn at 11:41 AM.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development

Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development