## OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda June 17, 2021

## OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

## I. Approval of the appointments to the Commission on School Accreditation

<u>Background Information</u>: Mississippi Code Ann. § 37-17-3 establishes that the Commission on School Accreditation (the Commission) shall consist of three (3) members of the four (4) congressional districts, and three (3) members from the state at large. The purpose and duty of the Commission is to continuously review the standards on accreditation and the enforcement thereof and to make recommendations thereon to the State Board of Education. All appointments shall be made by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Public Education.

The following Commission positions are eligible for appointment and the MDE recommends the following individuals to the fill these positions:

• One (1) Commission member is eligible for appointment to a second regular term (2021-2025).

| Congressional District 2 | Kelle Barfield                |
|--------------------------|-------------------------------|
|                          | Non-Educator                  |
|                          | Second Regular Term 2021-2025 |

• Due to the completion of a second term, there is a vacancy for an individual to serve a First Regular Term (2021-2025).

Congressional District 4 Grant Dickinson Special Education Administrator Representative First Regular Term 2021-2025

• Due to the retirement of a Commission members, there is a vacancy for a superintendent to serve a First Regular Term (2021-2025):

| Congressional District 4 | Dr. Carla Evers              |
|--------------------------|------------------------------|
| -                        | Superintendent               |
|                          | First Regular Term 2021-2025 |

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached