OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Item Consent Agenda July 18, 2024

OFFICE OF TEACHING AND LEADING

M. <u>Approval of the Mississippi Critical Teacher Shortage Act of 1998: Designation of 2024-2025 Critical Shortage Subject Areas and Critical Shortage Geographical Areas (Mississippi School Districts)</u>

<u>Background Information</u>: The State Board of Education designates critical shortage subject areas and critical shortage geographical areas (Mississippi School Districts) annually for the purpose of enabling participants to receive loan forgiveness or complete required service obligations in designated shortage areas.

Particularly, at minimum, the designations enable participants to qualify for deferment of loan repayments under the Federal Stafford Program, qualify for loan cancellation under the Federal Perkins Loan, meet obligations under the Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program, and fulfill their teaching obligation under the TEACH Grant Program.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached



2024/2025 Mississippi Critical Shortage Subjects

Special Education	Mathematics
Foreign Language (French, German, Spanish)	Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)

2024/2025 Mississippi Geographical Critical Shortages Areas

1	Natchez-Adams School District	55	Leflore Legacy Academy
2	Amite County School District	56	Columbus Municipal School District
3	Attala County School District	57	Canton Public School District
4	Kosciusko School District	58	Marshall County School District
5	Benton County School District	59	Holly Springs School District
	•	60	Aberdeen School District
7	West Bolivar Consolidated School District	_	
8	North Bolivar Consolidated School District	61 62	Philadelphia Public School District
9	Calhoun County School District	63	Newton Municipal School District
10	Carroll County School District	64	Union Public School District
	Chickasaw County School District Okolona Separate School District	_	Noxubee County School District Starkville-Oktibbeha Consolidated School District
11 12	Choctaw County School District	65 66	
		67	North Panola School District South Panola School District
13 14	Claiborne County School District		
	Quitman School District	68	Picayune School District North Pike Consolidated School District
15 16	Coahoma County School District	69	South Pike School District
	Clarksdale Municipal School District	70	Mccomb School District
17	Clarksdale Collegiate	71	
18	Copiah County School District	72	Pontotoc City Schools
19	Hazlehurst City School District	73	Baldwyn Public School District
20	Covington County School District	74	Booneville School District
21	Desoto County School District	75	Quitman County School District
22	Forrest County School District	76	Forest Municipal School District
23	Forrest County Agriculture High School	77	South Delta School District
24	Hattiesburg Public School District	78	Simpson County School District
25	Greene County School District	79	Smith County School District
26	Grenada School District	80	Sunflower County Consolidated School District
27	Bay St. Louis Waveland School District	81	East Tallahatchie School District
28	Harrison County School District	82	West Tallahatchie School District
29	Pass Christian Public School District	83	Tate County School District
30	Hinds County School District	84	Senatobia Municipal School District
31	Smilow Collegiate	85	North Tippah School District
32	Reimagine Prep	86	South Tippah School District
33	Jackson Public School District	87	Tishomingo County SP Mun School District
34	Clinton Public School District	88	Tunica County School District
35	Midtown Public Charter School	89	New Albany Public Schools
36	Smilow Prep	90	Vicksburg Warren School District
37	Ambition Prep	91	Hollandale School District
38	Revive	92	Leland School District
39	Holmes County Consolidated School District	93	Western Line School District
40	Humphreys County School District	94	Greenville Public School District
41	Jackson County School District	95	Wayne County School District
42	Moss Point School District	96	Webster County School District
43	East Jasper Consolidated School District	97	Wilkinson County School District
44	Jefferson County School District	98	Louisville Municipal School District
45	Jefferson Davis County School District	99	Coffeeville School District
46	Laurel School District	100	Water Valley School District
47	Kemper County School District	101	Yazoo County School District
48	Lafayette County School District	102	Yazoo City Municipal School District
49	Lauderdale County School District		
50	Meridian Public School District		
51	Lawrence County School District		
52	Leake County School District		
53	Lee County School District		
54	Greenwood-Leflore Consolidated School District		