## OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda July 18, 2024

## OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

L. Approval of the appointments to the Commission on School Accreditation

<u>Background Information</u>: Mississippi Code Ann. § 37-17-3 establishes that the Commission on School Accreditation (the Commission) shall consist of three (3) members of the four (4) congressional districts, and three (3) members from the state at large. The purpose and duty of the Commission is to continuously review the standards on accreditation and the enforcement thereof and to make recommendations thereon to the State Board of Education. All appointments shall be made by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Public Education.

The following Commission positions are eligible for appointment (or reappointment) and the MDE recommends the following individuals to the fill these positions:

• One (1) Commission member is eligible for appointment to a second regular term (2024-2028).

Congressional District 4 Pamela Manners

Non-Educator

Second Regular Term 2024-2028

• Two (2) Commission members have completed an unexpired term and are eligible for appointment to a first regular term (2024-2028):

Congressional District 1 Reginald Goins

Teacher

First Regular Term 2024-2028

Congressional District 3 Patrice Guilfoyle

Non-Educator

First Regular Term 2024-2028

• Due to the resignation of a Commission member, there is a vacancy for a superintendent to serve an unexpired term (2021-2025):

Congressional District 3 Dr. Scott Rimes

Superintendent

Unexpired Term 2021-2025

• Due to the resignation of a Commission member, there is a vacancy for a principal to serve for an appointment to a first regular term (2024-2028):

Congressional District 2 Trosiki Pettis

Principal

First Regular Term 2024-2028

 Due to the resignation of a Commission member, there is a vacancy for a school board member to serve for an appointment to a first regular term (2024-2028):

Congressional District 3 Jeremy Hamm

School Board Member

First Regular Term 2024-2028

• One (1) Commission member has completed two (2) full terms. Therefore, there is a vacancy for a non-educator to serve for an appointment to a first regular term (2024-2028):

Congressional District 3 Toni Kirsch

Non-Educator

First Regular Term 2024-2028

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached