OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Item Consent Agenda January 18, 2024

OFFICE OF TEACHING AND LEADING

H. <u>Approval of appointments to the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development</u>

Background Information: Mississippi Code Annotated § 37-3-2 establishes that the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development (the Commission) shall be composed of 15 qualified members. The purpose and duty of the Commission is to make recommendations to the State Board of Education regarding standards for the certification and licensure and continuing professional development of those who teach or perform tasks of an educational nature in the public schools of Mississippi. All appointments shall be made by the State Board of Education after consultation with the State Superintendent of Public Education. The appointments are recommended in accordance with the internal operating policies of the Commission and Miss. Code Ann. § 37-3-2(2).

The following Licensure Commission positions are eligible for appointments due to expiration of an unfulfilled term in which they served or entering second and final four-year term. The individuals noted below are being recommended for approval to be reappointed for the term and period specified.

Congressional District 1

Dylan Baldwin Representative First Regular Term 2024-2028

Congressional District 3

David Martin Administrator Second Regular Term 2024-2028

Congressional District 2

William D. Murphy Community College Administrator First Regular Term 2024-2028

Congressional District 3

Teresa Jayroe Public Institution of Higher Learning First Regular Term 2024-2028

Congressional District 4

Aaron D. Wilson Teacher (At Large) First Regular Term 2024-2028

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached