## OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda August 19, 2021

## OFFICE OF TEACHING AND LEADING

L. <u>Approval of the *Mississippi Critical Teacher Shortage Act of 1998:* Designation of 2021-2022 Critical Shortage Subject Areas and Critical Shortage Geographical Areas (Mississippi School Districts)</u>

<u>Background Information</u>: The State Board of Education designates critical shortage subject areas and critical shortage geographical areas (Mississippi School Districts) annually for the purpose of enabling participants to receive loan forgiveness or complete required service obligations in designated shortage areas.

Particularly, at minimum, the designations enable participants to qualify for deferment of loan repayments under the Federal Stafford Program, qualify for loan cancellation under the Federal Perkins Loan, meet obligations under the Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program, fulfill their teaching obligation under the TEACH Grant Program, and qualify for state specific critical shortage related incentives offered by the state of Mississippi when funds are appropriated.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached



## 2021/2022 Mississippi Critical Shortage Subjects

Special Education	Mathematics
Foreign Language (French, German, Spanish)	Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)

## 2021/2022 Mississippi Geographical Critical Shortages Areas

1			
1	Natchez-Adams School District	52	Leflore Legacy
2	Alcorn School District	53	Columbus School District
3		54	Canton Public School District
3	Amite County School District	55	
	Attala County School District	6	Holly Springs School District
5	Kosciusko School District	56	Newton Municipal School District
6	Benton County School District	57	Union Public School District
-	North Bolivar Consolidated School	50	
7	District	58	Newton County School District
8	West Bolivar Consolidated School Dist.	59	Philadelphia Public School District
9	Carroll County School District	60	Noxubee County School District
			Starkville-Oktibbeha Consolidated School
10	Cleveland School District	61	District
11	Okolona Separate School District	62	Aberdeen School District
12	Claiborne County School District	63	North Panola School District
13	Choctaw County School District	64	Picayune School District
	Coahoma County Early College High		Winona-Montgomery Consolidated School
14	School	65	District
15	Coahoma County School District	67	South Pike School District
16	Clarksdale School District	67	North Pike Consolidated School District
17	Clarksdale Collegiate	68	McComb School District
18	Copiah County School District	69	Baldwyn Public School District
19	Hazlehurst City School District	70	Booneville School District
20	Covington County School District	71	Quitman County School District
21	Desoto County School District	72	Pontotoc City Schools
22	Forrest County School District	73	Forest Municipal School District
23	Forrest County Agriculture High School	74	South Delta School District
24	Hattiesburg Public School District	75	Simpson County School District
25	Grenada School District	76	Smith County School District
26	Pass Christian Public School District	77	Sunflower County Consolidated School District
27	Greene County School District	78	East Tallahatchie Consolidated School District
28	Hinds County School District	79	West Tallahatchie Consolidated School District
29	Smilow Collegiate	80	Tate County School District
30	Re-Imagine Prep	81	North Tippah Consolidated School District
31	Jackson Public School District	82	South Tippah School District
32	Clinton Public School District	83	New Albany Public School District
33	Midtown Public	84	Tishomingo County School. District
34	Smilow Prep	85	Vicksburg Warren School District
35	Ambition Prep	86	Tunica County School District
35		87	Hollandale School District
30	Holmes County Consolidated School District	0/	

07		00	Lateral Oak and District
37	Humphreys County School District	88	Leland School District
38	Moss Point School District	89	Western Line School District
39	East Jasper School District	90	Greenville Public School District
40	Jackson County School District	91	Wayne County School District
41	Jefferson County School District	92	Webster County School District
42	Jefferson Davis County School District	93	Wilkinson County School District
43	Laurel School District	94	Louisville School District
44	Kemper County School District	95	Water Valley School District
45	Lauderdale County School District	96	Coffeeville School District
46	Meridian Public School District	97	Yazoo County School District
47	Leake County School District	98	Yazoo City School District
48	Lee County School District		
49	Lafyette County School District		
50	Lawrence County School District		
	Greenwood-Leflore Consolidated School		
51	District		