OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda December 16, 2021

OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

G. Approval of nonpublic school accreditation statuses for School Year 2021-2022

<u>Background Information:</u> Annual accreditation statuses for nonpublic schools are assigned in December of each year and are determined by information verified during the previous school year 2020-2021. Accreditation statuses are based on compliance with the process standards as outlined in the *Mississippi Nonpublic School Accountability Standards*, 2021.

Any nonpublic school may voluntarily request accreditation. Accreditation is determined by the extent to which the school complies with each of the nonpublic policies and standards. Initial accreditation requires any newly applying school to be fully operational and to substantiate compliance with all accreditation requirements. Each nonpublic school voluntarily seeking initial accreditation must have conducted a program of educational services for a period of at least one (1) calendar year prior to date of proposed Mississippi State Board of Education accreditation. Each nonpublic school voluntarily seeking accreditation from the SBE is required to submit the Nonpublic School Accreditation Application annually in the fall of each school year.

An assigned status remains in effect during that school year unless the correction of deficiencies upgrades a status. A nonpublic school will be assigned a Probation status if the school was assigned an Advised status the previous school year and the school has not taken corrective actions or has not resolved the deficiencies that resulted in the Advised status.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

Accreditation Statuses for Nonpublic Schools School Year 2021-2022

RECOMMENDED STATUS	TOTAL NUMBER
Accredited	56
Advised	0
Probation	0
Temporary	0
Total	56

CATHOLIC SCHOOLS (21)

STATUS

Saint Elizabeth School - Clarksdale	Accredited
Sacred Heart School - Southaven	Accredited
Sacred Heart School - Hattiesburg	Accredited
Our Lady Academy High School - Bay St. Louis	Accredited
Holy Trinity Elementary - Bay St. Louis	Accredited
St. Patrick Catholic High School - Biloxi	Accredited
Nativity B.V.M. Elementary - Biloxi	Accredited
Our Lady of Fatima Elementary - Biloxi	Accredited
Saint James Elementary School - Gulfport	Accredited
St. Vincent DePaul Elementary - Long Beach	Accredited
Sacred Heart School - D'Iberville	Accredited
Sister Thea Bowman Catholic School - Jackson	Accredited
Saint Richard Catholic School - Jackson	Accredited
Resurrection Middle/High School - Pascagoula	Accredited
Resurrection Elementary School - Pascagoula	Accredited
Saint Alphonsus School - Ocean Springs	Accredited
Saint Patrick School - Meridian	Accredited
St. Francis of Assisi - Greenwood	Accredited
St. Anthony Catholic – Madison	Accredited
Holy Family - Holly Springs	Accredited
St. Charles Borromeo - Picayune	Accredited
	Sacred Heart School - Hattiesburg Our Lady Academy High School - Bay St. Louis Holy Trinity Elementary - Bay St. Louis St. Patrick Catholic High School - Biloxi Nativity B.V.M. Elementary - Biloxi Our Lady of Fatima Elementary - Biloxi Saint James Elementary School - Gulfport St. Vincent DePaul Elementary - Long Beach Sacred Heart School - D'Iberville Sister Thea Bowman Catholic School - Jackson Saint Richard Catholic School - Jackson Resurrection Middle/High School - Pascagoula Resurrection Elementary School - Pascagoula Saint Alphonsus School - Ocean Springs Saint Patrick School - Meridian St. Francis of Assisi - Greenwood St. Anthony Catholic - Madison Holy Family - Holly Springs

CHOCTAW TRIBAL SCHOOLS (8)

STATUS

5007-004	Bogue Chitto Elementary - Philadelphia	Accredited
5007-008	Choctaw Central High School - Philadelphia	Accredited
5007-010	Choctaw Central Middle School - Philadelphia	Accredited
5007-012	Conehatta Elementary School - Conehatta	Accredited
5007-014	Pearl River Elementary School - Philadelphia	Accredited
5007-016	Red Water Elementary School - Carthage	Accredited
5007-020	Standing Pine Elementary School - Carthage	Accredited
5007-024	Tucker Elementary School - Philadelphia	Accredited

SPECIAL SCHOOLS (25)

STATUS

0450	Millcreek of Kosciusko – Kosciusko	Accredited
1774	Park Academy - Olive Branch	Accredited
1844	CARES, Inc Hattiesburg	Accredited
1876	Dynamic Dyslexia Design (The 3-D School) - Petal	Accredited
1975	Millcreek - Meadville	Accredited
2480	*Roger A. McMurtry - Gulfport	Accredited
2487	Gulf Oaks Day School - Biloxi	Accredited
2544	CARES, Inc Jackson	Accredited
2562	*Williams School - Raymond	Accredited
2590	Magnolia Speech School - Jackson	Accredited
3075	Lighthouse Academy for Dyslexia	Accredited
3475	*Ellisville State School - Ellisville	Accredited
3681	*North MS Regional Center - Oxford	Accredited
3850	Crossroads School/The Crossings - Meridian	Accredited
5150	Millcreek/Newton Satellite - Newton	Accredited
5350	Millcreek/Golden Triangle Satellite - Columbus	Accredited
5450	Millcreek/Batesville Satellite - Batesville	Accredited
5850	Millcreek of Pontotoc - Pontotoc	Accredited
6150	Millcreek of Pearl – Pearl	Accredited
6160	Brentwood- Crossroads School- Flowood	Accredited
6177	*Hudspeth/C. B. Noblin School - Whitfield	Accredited
6180	*Youthful Offender Unit School – Pearl	Accredited
6475	Millcreek School - Magee	Accredited
7650	Millcreek of Greenville - Greenville	Accredited
8050	Diamond Grove Center - Louisville	Accredited

^{*}State Agency School

OTHER PRIVATE SCHOOLS (2)		STATUS
1070	French Camp Academy	Accredited
7971	Wilkinson County Christian - Woodville	Accredited

Mississippi Nonpublic School Accountability Standards

Policy 2.3: Accreditation Statuses

Accreditation statuses assigned by the State Board of Education are (a) Accredited, (b) Advised, (c) Probation, (d) Temporary, and (e) Withdrawn.

Accredited. A nonpublic school will be assigned an accredited status when the school is in compliance with each of the applicable accreditation requirements and standards as described in this document.

Advised. A nonpublic school will be assigned an Advised status the first year that the school fails to comply with all of the requirements as described in this document.

Probation. A nonpublic school will be assigned a Probation status if the school was assigned an Advised status the previous school year and the nonpublic school has not taken corrective actions or has not resolved the process standard deficiencies that resulted in the Advised status. The nonpublic school will be required to develop a corrective action plan to address the deficiencies. (See Accreditation Policy 3.2.)

Temporary. A special purpose school that serves students with disabilities may be assigned a Temporary status when (a) the special purpose school is in compliance with IDEA and relevant state regulations and (b) is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools or by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO). A Temporary status may also be assigned to a satellite school established by the governing body of an accredited nonpublic school currently on record with the State Board of Education.

A Temporary status will expire twelve months from the date that the Temporary status was assigned and is not renewable. During the twelve-month period, the school may apply to the State Board of Education for an accreditation status.

Withdrawn. A nonpublic school will be assigned a Withdrawn status when the school has been previously assigned a status of Probation and the school fails to meet the goals and timelines for resolving identified deficiencies as stated in its approved corrective action plan.