OFFICE OF CHIEF SCHOOL PERFORMANCE OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items July 16, 2015

OFFICE OF CONSOLIDATION/SUPERINTENDENTS ACADEMY

03. Report on the Superintendents Academy and recognition of the FY 15
Superintendents Academy members COHORT 1 [Goals 1 and 2 – MDE Strategic Plan]

Executive Summary

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Superintendents Academy is designed to teach advanced leadership skills and strategies to superintendents who are in the early stages of their tenure.

This item references Goals 1 and 2 of the *Mississippi Department of Education* 2016-2020 Strategic Plan.

The following candidates have completed the first MDE Superintendents Academy:

Clay Anglin, Covington County School District Debra Dace, Sunflower County Consolidated School District Darron Edwards, West Tallahatchie School District Brian Freeman, Forrest County School District Debbie Harrell, George County School District Phillip Hickman, Columbus Municipal School District Fred Hill. Natchez-Adams School District Brenda Hopson, Quitman County School District Lisa Hull, Philadelphia School District Angela Johnson, Hollandale School District B. R. Jones, Tate County School District Alan Lumpkin, Pearl River County School District Delesicia Martin, Hinds County School District Ken McMullan, Louisville School District Cedric Richardson, North Panola School District Chad Shealy, Vicksburg-Warren School District Linda Smith, Lumberton Public School District Elliot Wheeler, Humphreys County School District

No Action: Discussion Only

