## OFFICE OF CHIEF SCHOOL PERFORMANCE OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda June 18-19, 2015

## OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

## I. Approval of Appointments to the Commission on School Accreditation

The Commission on School Accreditation is composed of fifteen (15) members, with three (3) representatives from each of the five Congressional districts as established at the time the Commission was authorized under Section 37-17-3 of the *Mississippi Code of 1972*, as amended. The membership consists of two (2) classroom teachers, two (2) principals of schools, two (2) school district superintendents, two (2) local school board members, and seven (7) individuals who are not actively engaged in the education profession. The length of a regular term is four (4) years, and each member is eligible to serve for two (2) full consecutive terms. The membership of the Commission shall be appointed by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Education, and all appointments to the Commission shall comply with Section 37-17-3, *Mississippi Code of 1972*, as amended.

The following Commission positions are eligible for re-appointment:

• Due to the completion of the first regular term, Ann Jones, Non-Educator, is eligible for appointment to the second regular term (2015-2019) in Congressional District 2.

Congressional District 2	Ann Jones
	Non-Educator
	Second Regular Term 2015-2019

• Due to the completion of the first regular term, Michael Miller, Non-Educator, is eligible for appointment to the second regular term (2015-2019) in Congressional District 3.

Congressional District 3	Michael Miller
	Non-Educator
	Second Regular Term 2015-2019

• Due to the completion of an unexpired term, Michael Lindsey, Principal, is eligible for appointment to the first regular term (2015-2019) in Congressional District 5.

Congressional District 5	Michael Lindsey
	Principal
	First Regular Term 2015-2019

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

## COMMISSION ON SCHOOL ACCREDITATION 2014-2015 School Year

Congressional District	Name	Position	City	Term	Date Appointed	Term Expires	Comments
1 <sup>st</sup>	Lee Childress	Superintendent	Corinth	2 <sup>nd</sup> Term 2013-2017	UE=2007 1 <sup>st</sup> =2009 2 <sup>nd</sup> =2013	June 2017	Appointed 2007 to fill an un-expired term 2005-2009; Appointed to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2009-2013; Appointed to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2013-2017
1 <sup>st</sup>	John Paul Mistilis	Teacher	Oxford	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2013-2017	UE=2012 1 <sup>st</sup> = 2013	June 2017	Appointed 2012 to fill an un-expired term 2009-2013; Appointed to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2013-2017; Eligible for appointment to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2017-2021
1 <sup>st</sup>	Eddie Prather	School Board	Tupelo	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2012-2016	1 <sup>st</sup> =2012	June 2016	Appointed 2012 to serve 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2012-2016; Eligible for appointment to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2016-2020
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Mary Jean Gates	Non-educator	Cleveland	2 <sup>nd</sup> Term 2012-2016	1 <sup>st</sup> =2008 2 <sup>nd</sup> =2012	June 2016	Appointed 2008 to serve 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2008-2012; Appointed to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2012-2016
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Sean Brewer	Principal	Madison	UE Term 2012-2016	UE=2014	June 2016	Appointed 2014 to fill an unexpired term 2012-2016; Eligible for appointment to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2016-2020
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Robert Tyner, Jr.	School Board	Clarksdale	UE Term 2012-2016	UE=2013	June 2016	Appointed 2013 to fill an un-expired term 2012-2016; Eligible for appointment to 1 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2016-2020
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Kenny Bush	Non-Educator	Philadelphia	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2013-2017	1 <sup>st</sup> =2013	June 2017	Appointed to $1^{st}$ regular term 2013-2017; Eligible for appointment to $2^{nd}$ regular term 2017-2021
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Michael Miller	Non-Educator	Brandon	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2011-2015	1 <sup>st</sup> =2011	June 2015	Appointed 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2011-2015; Eligible for appointment to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2015-2019
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Heather Westerfield	Teacher	Pearl	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2012-2016	1 <sup>st</sup> =2012	June 2016	Appointed 2012 to serve 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2012-2016; Eligible for appointment to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2016-2020
4 <sup>th</sup>	Chuck Blackwell	Non-educator	Ellisville	2 <sup>nd</sup> Term 2013-2017	UE=2007 1 <sup>st</sup> =2009 2 <sup>nd</sup> =2013	June 2017	Appointed 2007 to fill an un-expired term 2005-2009; Appointed to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2009-2013; Appointed to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2013-2017
4 <sup>th</sup>	Ann Jones	Non-educator	Jackson	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2011-2015	UE=2010 1 <sup>st</sup> =2011	June 2015	Appointed 2010 to fill an un-expired term 2007-2011; Appointed to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2011-2015; Eligible for appointment to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2015-2019
4 <sup>th</sup>	L. C. Tennin, Jr.	Non-educator	Jackson	2 <sup>nd</sup> Term 2012-2016	UE=2006 1 <sup>st</sup> =2008 2 <sup>nd</sup> =2012	June 2016	Appointed 2006 to fill an un-expired term 2004-2008; Appointed to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2008-2012; Appointed to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2012-2016
5 <sup>th</sup>	Henry Arledge	Superintendent	Gulfport	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2013-2017	UE=2011 1 <sup>st</sup> =2013	June 2017	Appointed 2011 to fill an un-expired term 2009-2013; Appointed to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2013-2017; Eligible for appointment to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2017-2021
5 <sup>th</sup>	Michael Lindsey	Principal	Gulfport	UE Term 2011-2015	UE=2012	June 2015	Appointed 2012 to fill an un-expired term 2011-2015; Eligible for appointment to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2015-2019
5 <sup>th</sup>	Anthony Montgomery	Non-Educator	Gulfport	1 <sup>st</sup> Term 2013-2017	UE=2012 1 <sup>st</sup> =2013	June 2017	Appointed 2012 to fill an un-expired term 2009-2013; Appointed to 1 <sup>st</sup> regular term 2013-2017; Eligible for appointment to 2 <sup>nd</sup> regular term 2017-2021