

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Regular Scheduled Teleconference meeting February 1, 2024 8:30 a.m.

A regular meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, February 1, 2024. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel or in person in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Dr. Laurin Bailey, Pearl, MS Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS Anthony Bryant, Tupelo, MS Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS Dr. Tyler Hansford, Decatur, MS Pamela Manners, (Chair), Biloxi, MS Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS Jan Vaughn, Greenville, MS Dr. Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS Ingrid Williams, Clinton, MS

Members absent:

Dr. Valencia Martin Brad Stevens

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Associate State Superintendent/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Erin Meyer, General Counsel Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation J. Christopher Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Dawn Tassin, Office of Accountability Wendy Clemons, Associate State Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Boykin, Office of Special Education Ginger Koestler, Office of Special Education Amye Rowan, Office of Special Education Commission on School Accreditation-Minutes February 1, 2024

Jennifer Nichols, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 8:34 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Ms. Manners asked the Commission members to review the proposed agenda. On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Tyler Hansford, the Commission unanimously voted to adopt the agenda.

III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the December 7, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Ingrid Williams, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the December 7, 2023, meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation.

IV. Discussion: Proposed revisions to Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023, specifically Appendices A-6 – A-12, B-2, G, and the Glossary, and the establishment of Appendix A-13 (Wendy Clemons, Dr. Jennifer Boykin, and Ginger Koestler)

Wendy Clemons and Ginger Koestler presented the information to the Commission.

V. Action: Approval to submit a request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) Process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24, *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023,* A-6 – A-12, B-2, G, and the Glossary, and the establishment of Appendix A-13.

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Laurin Bailey, the Commission unanimously voted to submit a request to the State Board of Education to begin the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) process to revise Miss. Admin. Code: 7-24: *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023,* specifically Appendices A-6 – A-12, B-2, G, and the Glossary, and the establishment of Appendix A-13.

Commission on School Accreditation-Minutes February 1, 2024

VI. Action: Consideration of waiver from Scott County School District for Process Standard 2.1 (Principal Duties) of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2023 for School Year 2023-2024

Dr. Jo Ann Malone presented this information to the Commission.

On a motion by Anthony Bryant, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to waive Process Standard 2.1 (Principal Duties) of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, 2023* for School Year 2023-2024 for the Scott County School District.

VII. Action: Approval to upgrade the accreditation status of the Richton School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED

Dr. Malone presented this information to the Commission.

On a motion by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission unanimously voted to upgrade the accreditation status of the Richton School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED.

VIII. Other Business

Dr. Malone informed the Commission that Lori Brechtel had resigned from the Commission because she moved out of her congressional district.

Dr. Carla Evers asked, "Does the Commission consider recommendations from the Accountability Taskforce?" Dr. Malone told her yes.

Reminder:

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is scheduled for Thursday, April 4, 2024.

IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Tyler Hansford, seconded by Dr. Laurin Bailey, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 8:54 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION

April 4 2024 (Month) (Day) (Year) Panelemanne Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission